Galekovic and De Laet take top honours in Melbourne City FC Player of the Year Awards


One night after its final home match of the season, a ruthless 5-0 demolition of Central Coast, Melbourne City FC hosted its annual Player of the Year awards ceremony.

Held in Melbourne’s Crown Palladium with sponsors and fans joining players and Club staff, the ceremony celebrated the seasons of City’s three core teams; A-League, W-League and Y-League.

Of the major awards, it was veteran shot-stopper, Eugene Galekovic and the talismanic, Ritchie De Laet that took the headlines.

With 336 A-League appearances to his name, 37-year old Galekovic set the standard as one of the league’s best goalkeepers this season, producing a number of outstanding displays throughout the year, earning him the coaches votes for the coveted Player of the Year award.

Galekovic was also honoured with the Clubman of the Year award which recognises the player that has best embodied the spirit, character and values of the Club on and off the field.

Joining Galekovic at the top of the honours list was key defender, Ritchie De Laet, earning the fans vote to clinch Etihad Supporters’ Player of the Year after a challenging season that has seen the 30-year old Belgian play in defence, midfield and attack.

De Laet also collected the Golden Boot award for the most goals scored however was made to share it with young Olyroos midfielder, Riley McGree after the South Australian made a late surge in the race, scoring two goals in Wellington last week before scoring a sublime volley in City’s final match of the season against the Mariners. Both players ended the campaign on seven goals with newcomers Jamie Maclaren and Shay Harrison not far behind on five each.

Elsewhere in the awards, Luke Brattan received the award for goal of the season for an exquisite nut meg followed by a 35-yard top corner bullet against Western Sydney Wanderers in January at AAMI Park – a match City won 4-3 thanks to a last-minute Bart Schenkeveld header.



  • Player of the Year: Eugene Galekovic
  • Golden Boot: Ritchie De Laet and Riley McGree
  • Etihad Supporters Player of the Year: Ritchie De Laet
  • Nissan Goal of the Year: Luke Brattan vs Western Sydney Wanderers
  • Clubman Award: Eugene Galekovic


  • Y-League Player of the Year: Moudi Najjar
  • Rising Star: Ramy Najjarine


Presented to the winners in February

  • Player of the Year: Yukari Kinga
  • Golden Boot: Jasmyne Spencer
  • Coach’s Award: Lauren Barnes