2016/17 A-League squad numbers confirmed


Melbourne City FC has confirmed its squad numbers for the upcoming Hyundai A-League 2016/17 season, including those to be worn by the Club’s new signings.

Socceroos superstar Tim Cahill will persist with his favoured number 17; digits he has previously worn during spells at English clubs Millwall and Everton, MLS club New York Red Bulls and Chinese Super League outfit Shanghai Shenhua.

Defender Manny Muscat will wear the number two previously worn by Alex Wilkinson, while Neil Kilkenny has taken on the number eight jersey vacated by star midfielder Aaron Mooy.

Kilkenny’s midfield partner Luke Brattan will wear the number 26 jersey, with winger Bruce Kamau inheriting the number 11, formerly worn by Michael Zullo.

Danish defender Michael Jakobsen will wear number 22, while fellow centre-back Osama Malik has moved from number 33 to 6. Defender Josh Rose will slot into the number three, the traditional number worn by a left back.

Nick Fitzgerald has switched to number 12, paving the way for Argentine Fernando Brandan to adopt his former number 27 jersey.

New teenage striker Braedyn Crowley – who was unveiled as a City player on Tuesday – will wear the number 29, with its former incumbent Anthony Caceres now installed as the Club’s new number 10.

Youngsters Ruon Tongyik and Daniel Arzani will wear squad numbers 21 and 14 respectively.

Melbourne City FC squad numbers for A-League 2016/17 season.

1. Thomas SORENSEN, 2. Manny MUSCAT, 3. Josh ROSE, 4. Connor CHAPMAN, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Osama MALIK, 7. Corey GAMEIRO, 8. Neil KILKENNY, 10. Anthony CACERES, 11. Bruce KAMAU, 12. Nick FITZGERALD, 14. Daniel ARZANI, 17. Tim CAHILL, 18. Paulo RETRE, 20. Dean BOUZANIS, 21. Ruon TONGYIK, 22. Michael JAKOBSEN, 23. Bruno FORNAROLI, 26. Luke BRATTAN, 27. Fernando BRANDAN, 28. Steve KUZMANOVSKI

kit banner