Team News: Melbourne Derby squads announced

It’s been a long wait for the first Derbies of the 2023/24 season, but they are now just around the corner as we gear up for a massive doubleheader on Saturday night.

We’ll be looking to go into Christmas off the back of two massive wins, aiming to build some momentum as we edge closer to the halfway point of the season.


For our City Women who will kick off the Derby action at 5pm, it will be a chance to get back to winning ways after only taking one point from our past two fixtures following a hot start to the season.

Dario Vidosic has named a strong squad with a pair of key names set to return from injury. Kaitlyn Torpey returns as expected after not travelling last weekend to rest a niggle she had been dealing with in the weeks prior, while Bryleeh Henry could return from a knee injury that has ruled her out since Round 2.

The Men’s Derby will then take centre stage at 7:45pm with a bumper crowd expected as we fight it out with Victory for bragging rights for the first time this season.

Other than our known injury absences, Aurelio Vidmar has a strong squad to pick from for his first Derby as City boss.

Defenders Harry Politidis and Jordon Hall have been promoted to the extended squad and will be looking to press their cases to be included in the final 18 come Saturday evening.

Round 9 ALW Squad

2. Leia VARLEY, 3. Naomi CHINNAMA, 5. Taylor OTTO, 6. Leticia McKENNA, 7. Julia GROSSO, 8. Kaitlyn TORPEY, 10. Rhianna POLLICINA, 11. Emina EKIC, 13. Rebekah STOTT, 14. Laura HUGHES, 15. Kiera MEYERS, 16. Karly ROESTBAKKEN, 17. Hannah WILKINSON, 18. Leah DAVIDSON, 19. Tijan McKENNA, 20. Caitlin KARIC, 22. Bryleeh HENRY, 23. Melissa BARBIERI (GK), 24. Daniela GALIC, 44. Lysianne PROULX (GK).

In: 8. Kaitlyn TORPEY (returns from injury), 18. Leah DAVIDSON (promoted), 20. Caitlin KARIC (returns from injury), 22. Bryleeh HENRY (returns from injury).

Out: Nil.

Unavailable: 9. Holly McNAMARA (ACL).

Round 9 ALM Squad

1. Jamie YOUNG (GK), 2. Scott GALLOWAY, 4. Nuno REIS, 6. Steven UGARKOVIC, 8. Hamza SAKHI, 9. Jamie MACLAREN (C), 10. Tolgay ARSLAN, 11. Leo NATEL, 16. Aziz BEHICH, 17. Terry ANTONIS, 18. Jordon HALL, 21. Alessandro LOPANE, 22. Curtis GOOD, 25. Callum TALBOT, 26. Samuel SOUPRAYEN, 33. Patrick BEACH (GK), 37. Max CAPUTO, 38. Harry POLITIDIS, 44. Marin JAKOLIS, 46. Ben MAZZEO.

In: 18. Jordon HALL, 38. Harry POLITIDIS (both promoted).

Out: Nil.

Fan Behaviour

Melbourne City FC is dedicated to fostering an inclusive and welcoming environment for all fans, staff, players, and match officials. When attending matches, please be considerate of other fans to ensure a safe and enjoyable experience for everyone.

By adhering to the A-Leagues Terms of Admission and the Football Australia National Spectator Code of Behaviour, we can ensure that our game can continue to be enjoyed in a positive and respectful manner. 

If you encounter any negative behaviour on match day, please alert stadium personnel or security. Let’s make every match a memorable and enjoyable experience for all.