Player of the Year: Hughes takes out top honours

Melbourne City’s 2023/24 A-League Women’s Premiers officially concluded their season on Wednesday night, with the team’s Player of the Year awards.  

The 2023/24 season saw the Club secure its third A-League Women’s Premiers Plate, and its first piece of silverware in the competition since the 2019/20 double.

Under Head Coach, Dario Vidosic, the team continued to display their attacking style of football despite facing several challenges throughout the season, with a combination of player departures, injuries, and international duty.

Celebrating the achievements of the squad, the team came together as Laura Hughes was crowned the 2024 A-League Women’s Player of the Year.

In her first season at the Club, Hughes was quick to become an integral member of the squad in the heart of midfield. Playing in every game of the team’s 2023/24 campaign, Hughes was an unrelenting engine in midfield.

We wrap up all the award winners below.

Melissa Barbieri Award – Karly Roestbakken

Formerly known as the Coaches Award, the award was re-named to recognise Melissa’s significant contribution to the Club over the past seven seasons. As someone who embodies everything that we stand for at City, it’s only fitting that we re-named this award in her honour.  

Karly Roestbakken was the inaugural recipient of the Melissa Barbieri Award after consistently demonstrating the culture and values we aspire to at City.

A much-loved figure at the Club, Karly’s leadership, determination and team-first approach makes her a richly deserved award-winner.

Golden Boot Award – Hannah Wilkinson

City’s all-time leading goal scorer in the A-League Women’s competition, Hannah Wilkinson, took out the 2023/24 Golden Boot Award.

The New Zealand international netted nine goals in 20 regular season fixtures, plus a further one in the second leg of City’s Semi Final, to clinch her second City Golden Boot.

Rising Star Award – Daniela Galic

Following a stellar season in City colours, 17-year-old star, Daniela Galic, was recognised for her achievements with the Rising Star Award.

Galic’s Melbourne City Rising Star Award comes just days after being crowned the Young Footballer of the Year at the 2024 Dolan Warren Awards.

With dazzling feet and incredible technical ability, Galic showcased her ability to excel in midfield, up front and on the wing during the 2023/24 A-League Women’s season.

The 17-year-old young gun appeared in 22 matches for City, registering seven goals and six assists, which saw her earn her first call-up to the Matildas squad.

Players’ Player Award – Rebekah Stott

Returning to the Club she calls home from the Women’s Super League in England ahead of the 2023/24 campaign, Rebekah Stott was named Captain of City on the eve of the season.

It was another stellar season in City colours for our central defender, leading the team to the Club’s third A-League Women’s Premiers Plate – her seventh trophy at City.

Voted on by the playing group, this prestigious award shows just how much Stotty is valued, respected and admired by her teammates, both on and off the pitch.

Player of the Year Award – Laura Hughes

Since joining City at the beginning of the season, Laura Hughes has quickly become an invaluable member of Dario Vidosic’s team.

A crucial figure in the team’s success, the ever-reliable Hughes played in every game of her first season at the Club – starting all but one fixture.

A player that will run all day, work as hard as anyone in the middle of the pitch and fight for every ball, Hughes is a throughly deserving winner of our top honour.