A-League Women squad locked in!

Following Friday morning’s signing announcements, our squad for the newly rebranded A-League Women season has been locked in!

Several of our Melbourne-based players began pre-season training a couple of weeks ago, while we are hoping to have the full squad in training together as soon as possible ahead of our season opener against Canberra United on December 3.

Rado Vidosic’s squad this season will have seven players returning from last season, headlined by Captain Emma Checker.

Also returning to City are Tori Tumeth and Leah Davidson who both were impressive in their first season at the Club. Still both just 20-years-old, expect to see them continue to improve and reach new heights in their second season in Melbourne.

The defensive partnership from our 2019/20 invincible season has also been united, with the return of Rebekah Stott to professional football and Melbourne City.

New signing Hannah Wilkinson looks set for a big first season in Australia and in City blue, fresh off making her 100th appearance for the White Ferns in the recent Tokyo Olympics.

Rhianna Pollicina and Leticia McKenna are set to provide a spark in midfield in their first season at Melbourne, both joining the Club off the back of strong 2021/22 campaigns.

In between the sticks this season will be Young Matildas goalkeeper Sally James, one of the brightest young shot-stoppers in the country. Working with former Matildas captain Melissa Barbieri in training every day, the trend of quality goalkeepers at the Club is set to continue.

Vidosic’s squad also has a sense of stability which hasn’t been often seen in the past at the top level of Australian Women’s football, with almost half of the squad signing multi-year deals.

Melbourne City FC 2021/22 A-League Women squad: Melissa BARBIERI (gk), Chelsea BLISSETT, Emma CHECKER (c), Naomi CHINNAMA, Leah DAVIDSON, Sally JAMES (gk), Caitlin KARIC, Darcey MALONE, Leticia MCKENNA, Holly MCNAMARA, Rhianna POLLICINA, Rebekah STOTT, Kaitlyn TORPEY, Tori TUMETH, Marisa van der MEER, Tyla Jay VLAJNIC, Meisha WESTLAND, Hannah WILKINSON.