City feature in Dolan Warren Awards contenders


Melbourne City could feature heavily in Football Federation Australia’s night of nights, the Dolan Warren Awards, with both Men’s and Women’s players up for a raft of accolades.

The joint awards ceremony for both the Hyundai A-League and the Westfield W-League will see the Johnny Warren Medal awarded to the best Men’s player while the Julie Dolan Medal given to the best Women’s player as well as the Golden Boot, Young Footballer of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year and Referee of the Year.

City will feature heavily in the awards with Bruno Fornaroli and Larissa Crummer already confirmed as Golden Boot winners for their respective leagues. Fornaroli and Aaron Mooy are also strong contenders for the Johnny Warren Medal while Jess Fishlock and Kim Little could be up for the Julie Dolan Medal and Thomas Sorensen in the running for the Goalkeeper of the Year award. Crummer is also a nominee for the Young Footballer of the Year award.

It’s been an incredible season for City with the Club’s players leading the league in goals, assists and saves this season. Fornaroli’s 23 regular season goals and 2 incredible Finals goals set the A-League alight with the Uruguayan staking his claim to being the best striker the league has seen. Not to be outdone, Mooy’s 21 assists this season set an A-League record, almost doubling Kosta Barbarouses in second place and being labeled the best player in the league by Socceroos Head Coach Ange Postecoglou.

Our historic first season in the W-League saw international imports Jess Fishlock and Kim Little take the league by storm while Matildas young gun Larissa Crummer netted eleven times in her side’s Championship winning run which saw Joe Montemurro’s side take out the double.

The Dolan Warren Medal will be broadcasted exclusively on Fox Sports 505 on Tuesday from 7pm.