City signs American midfielder Erika Tymrak


Melbourne City FC is pleased to announce the signing of U.S midfielder Erika Tymrak ahead of the Westfield W-League 2016/17 season.

Tymrak joins City on a season-long loan deal from National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) club FC Kansas City, as Joe Montemurro continues to build his squad ahead of the Club’s W-League title defence.

The 25-year-old joined her teammates for the first time at the Brighton Girls Gala day on Sunday, where City’s W-League team took time out of their pre-season preparation to run football clinics for young girls aged 5-16 from Brighton Soccer Club.

An attacking midfielder, Tymrak burst on to the scene with a stellar debut season for FC Kansas City in 2013, claiming the NWSL Rookie of the Year Award with six goals and four assists from 21 matches.

Tymrak has since gone on to make 61 appearances for Kansas City, winning two NWSL titles in 2014 and 2015, while also gaining experience in Europe during a brief loan stint at Bayern Munich.

She has made three appearances for the United States Women’s National Team since making her international debut in 2013, scoring her first goal in a 4-1 friendly win over Brazil in Orlando.

Head Coach Montemurro said Tymrak’s arrival is a welcome boost to the Club’s attacking stocks.

“I’m delighted to have Erika join us this season. She is a very talented player who is capable of playing across a number of positions in midfield an attack,” he said.

“Erika will fit right in with the quality talent we already have at our disposal and I am looking forward to working with her ahead of the new season.”

Tymrak’s arrival will extend the Club’s W-League squad to a total of 13 contracted players ahead of the new campaign, including Matildas Steph Catley, Lydia Williams, Laura Alleway and Larissa Crummer.

Melbourne City FC will begin its W-League title defence against Newcastle Jets at CB Smith Reserve on Sunday 6 November.

membership banner

Melbourne City Women’s FC 2016/17 Squad:  Steph Catley (C), Lydia Williams, Laura Alleway, Larissa Crummer, Teigen Allen, Rebekah Stott, Amy Jackson, Marianna Tabain, Olivia Ellis, Tyla-Jay Vlajnic, Jacinta Galabadaarachchi, Melina Ayres, Erika Tymrak.

*Full squad TBC in the coming days