City Today: Development squad wins Abu Dhabi Cup!


City Academy wins Abu Dhabi Cup

Melbourne City FC’s Development squad spent the last week competing in the Manchester City Abu Dhabi Cup against a range of development teams from around the world. Led by youth and academy coach Joe Palatsides, Melbourne’s squad finished the tournament as undefeated winners, having beaten a range of teams including Spanish Soccer Schools, City Football Schools U12s, a Juventus youth development team and City Football Schools U11/12s. Congratulations to Pala, the team and our next generation!

Abu Dhabi Cup Winners

City secures impressive NPL win

Melbourne City’s National Premier Leagues side sits second on the NPL 2 East ladder after a comprehensive 6-2 win over Springvale White Eagles on the weekend. Yusuf Ahmed bagged a brace, while Scholarship Players Josh Cavallo and captain Moudi Najjar also found the back of the net. A-League Scholarship players Dylan Pierias, Denis Genreau and James Delianov all featured for the NPL side which has 12 points from the opening 6 rounds.

Bart impressed by Wanderers win

A clean sheet, three goals and a firmer grip on third place, City’s stoic defender Bart Schenkeveld said he was “really happy” with the team’s performance on Saturday. Watch his full post-match reaction here.

A pint, pizza and a chance to meet City players? Yes please.

Sounds pretty good for a Wednesday night! We’ll be back for pizza and beer at our local Stomping Ground Beer Hall for a hump day meet and greet with City players. Don’t miss our final one for the season and register now.

Matildas in Monday night action 

City’s Matildas, including Lydia Williams, will be in action on Monday night in Perth with the women’s national team taking on Thailand at nib Stadium. The match will be broadcast live on Fox Sports and SBS Viceland

Monash SC benefits from Goals for Grassroots

City were not the only beneficiaries of scoring three of the best on Friday night, with junior club Monash SC earning a $4,000 grant thanks to goals from Stefan Mauk, Michael Jakobsen and Bruno Fornaroli.