City trio named in PFA W-League Team of the Season


Melbourne City FC W-League stars Jess Fishlock, Steph Catley and Lydia Williams have been recognised for an outstanding season after being named in the inaugural PFA W-League Team of the Season for 2016/17.

Headlined by a host of world class players with over 600 international caps and nine having appeared at the FIFA World Cup, the trio have been ever-present in City’s run to a second consecutive Westfield W-League Grand Final.

Interim Head Coach and Semi-Final hero Fishlock has enjoyed a prolific goal-scoring campaign from midfield, with her 107th minute strike against Canberra United taking her tally to seven goals from 13 appearances this season.

Catley has also featured in all 13 matches this campaign and has been a marvel of consistency at both left-back, and occasionally in midfield, in her first season wearing the captain’s armband.

Matildas teammate and goalkeeper Williams has been a standout between the posts in her first season at the Club, keeping four clean sheets from her 13 appearances; the most important one coming in a player-of-the-match performance against Canberra in the Semi-Final.  

No other club has as many representatives in the team than Melbourne City; Grand Finalists Perth Glory take two places for striker Samantha Kerr and Kim Carroll, while Brisbane Roar, Canberra United and Adelaide United also have dual representatives.

Semi Finalists Sydney FC, Newcastle Jets, Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory have one representative each in the line-up. 

PFA W-League Team of the Year 2016/17

Goalkeeper:​ Lydia Williams (Melbourne City)

Defenders​: Steph Catley (Melbourne City); Alanna Kennedy (Sydney FC); Clare Polkinghorne (Brisbane Roar); and Megan Oyster (Newcastle Jets).

Midfielders​: Jess Fishlock (Melbourne City); Katrina Gorry (Brisbane Roar); and Yukari Kinga (Canberra United).

Forwards:​ Sam Kerr (c)​ (Perth Glory); Natasha Dowie (Melbourne Victory); and Ash Sykes (Canberra United).

Substitutes:​ Jayda Whyman GK (Western Sydney Wanderers); Kim Carroll (Perth Glory); Christine Nairn (Melbourne Victory); Adriana Jones (Adelaide United); and Alexandra Chidiac (Adelaide United).