Damien Duff returns for Boxing Day clash


The return of Damien Duff to fitness headlines this week’s squad announcement, with Duff named in Melbourne City FC’s side to challenge Perth Glory on Boxing Day.

Duff featured in Melbourne City FC’s first nine matches, impressing with his performances on the right wing. 

However, the former Irish international fell victim to a claf injury in the first 45 minutes in Melbourne City’s 1-0 win over Brisbane Roar and missed Saturday’s win over Melbourne Victory in the Melbourne Derby.

But Duff has recovered more quickly than expected and could play a part in the Boxing Day clash with Glory.

Making a successful return from injury in the Melbourne Derby, Slovenian international marquee Robi Koren could also play more of a role in Friday afternoon’s match after registering 30 minutes against Victory.


Hyundai A-League Round 12

Friday, 26 December 2014

Melbourne City FC v Perth Glory

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-Off: 5:30 PM (Local) (5:30 PM AEDT)

Referee: Alan Milliner

Assistant Referee 1: George Lakrindis

Assistant Referee 2: Jonathan Barreiro

Fourth Official: Lucien Laverdure

TV Broadcast: Live and exclusive coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: Online/ ABC Radio Mobile phone app 

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #MCYvPER

Melbourne City FC Squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 3.Robbie WIELAERT, 4.Connor CHAPMAN, 5.Erik PAARTALU, 6.Aaron MOOY, 7.Iain RAMSAY, 10.Robert KOREN, 11.Damien DUFF, 14.James BROWN, 15.David WILLIAMS, 17.Jason HOFFMAN, 19.Benjamin GARUCCIO, 20.Tando VELAPHI (GK), 21.Stefan MAUK, 23.Mate DUGANDZIC, 24.Patrick KISNORBO (C), 25.Jacob MELLING, 27.Ross ARCHIBALD

***two to be omitted***

Ins: 11.Damien DUFF (returns from injury), 27.Ross ARCHIBALD (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 8.Massimo MURDOCCA (ankle – 1-2 weeks)

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Danny VUKOVIC (gk), 2.Jack CLISBY,  3.Brandon O’NEILL, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 6.Dino DJULBIC, 8.Ruben ZADKOVICH, 9.Andy KEOGH, 10.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 11.Richard GARCIA, 14.Chris HAROLD, 15.Jamie MACLAREN, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA, 19.Josh RISDON, 20.Daniel DE SILVA,  21.Scott JAMIESON, 23.Michael THWAITE (c), 24.Matthew DAVIES, 30.Jordan THURTELL (GK)

***two to be omitted***

Ins: 2.Jack CLISBY (promoted), 19.Josh RISDON (return from suspension)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 7.Youssouf HERSI (Hamstring – indefinite), 17.Mitch NICHOLS (Hamstring – 6 weeks)