Dolan Warren Awards: City awarded Club Championship, star duo recognised

The 2022 Dolan Warren Awards were held on Thursday night with Melbourne City FC creating more history.

City became the first Club to ever be awarded the Club Championship trophy, finishing ahead of all other A-Leagues teams on the combined Men’s and Women’s points table.

Rado Vidosic’s Women’s squad fell agonisingly short of the Premiership but amassed 33 points for the campaign, while Patrick Kisnorbo’s Men’s team secured back-to-back Premiers Plates finishing the season on 49 points.

A couple of key contributors to both of those squads were also recognised on the A-Leagues’ night of nights.

Holly McNamara didn’t take long to settle into her first professional season, causing problems for defences across the league. She finished with four goals and three assists, earning a Matildas debut before her season was sadly cut short due to an ACL injury. Despite this, her brilliant debut A-League Women season saw her awarded the Young Footballer of the Year.

Jamie Maclaren was again in strong form throughout the Men’s season, finding the back of the net 15 times throughout City’s Premiership winning season. This saw him claim his fourth Golden Boot in his career and third in a row while wearing City blue.

Maclaren will be in action this Saturday night when City look to create history and become back-to-back Premiers and Champions. Don’t miss out, click here to get your tickets!