Heart confirms re-signings and departures


Melbourne Heart FC is pleased to announce a number of re-signings ahead of the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League Season.

Melbourne Heart FC is pleased to announce a number of re-signings ahead of the 2013/14 Hyundai A-League Season.

Mate Dugandzic, Jonatan Germano, Nick Kalmar and Sam Mitchinson have all agreed to extend their time with the Heart while the Club is also delighted to announce that 25-year-old Iain Ramsay will join the Club from Adelaide United.

The Club also confirms that Simon Colosimo, Matt Thompson, Fred and Clint Bolton will not be offered new contracts when their agreements expire on April 30.

The Club has also released mid-season signings Marcel Meeuwis, Jamie Coyne and Cameron Edwards.

Heart Head Coach John Aloisi is excited at the addition of Ramsay and securing a key clutch of important talent.

“We have a very talented group of younger players who are growing together and Iain will compliment them well,” Aloisi said.

“He has great qualities as a footballer and as a competitor. He is hungry to succeed and will really add an important dimension and depth down the flanks, which we probably lost when Aziz [Behich] and Michael [Marrone] left.

“We have also had to make some difficult decisions around a group of players who have been wonderful contributors to Melbourne Heart.

“I was a foundation player of the Club and I know first-hand how hard Simon [Colosimo], Matt [Thompson] and Clint [Bolton] worked to bring the club to life with their performances and their work off the field.

“Fred has also been a great captain for the past two seasons and pushed himself to the limit every training session and every match.

“I know I speak on behalf of all the Club-s staff and members that we will always be thankful for their contribution.”

The Club continues to negotiate with a number of players who are coming out of contract, including Richard Garcia and Jason Hoffman, and is hopeful of retaining them for next season and beyond.

In addition, the Club remains in discussions with Clint Bolton about extending his tenure with the Club in a non-playing capacity.

Players Signed for 2013/14 (15): Eli Babalj, Mate Dugandzic, Ben Garuccio, Patrick Gerhardt, Jonatan Germano, Nick Kalmar, Dylan Macallister, Stefan Mauk, Golgol Mebrahtu, Sam Mitchinson, Iain Ramsay, Andrew Redmayne, David Vrankovic, Jeremy Walker, David Williams