Karly Roestbakken returns to City

Melbourne City FC is excited to confirm the return of Karly Roestbakken ahead of the 2023/24 A-League Women’s season.

Roestbakken made four appearances in an injury-interrupted first year with the Club but now back for a second season in City blue, is expected to be a key member of Dario Vidosic’s squad.

She has made a total of 43 A-League Women’s appearances after spending five seasons with Canberra United prior to making the move to Melbourne last year.

The re-signing of Roestbakken adds further depth to an impressive defensive unit which features all-time City Women’s appearance leader Rebekah Stott, 2022/23 Player of the Year Julia Grosso, and new signing Taylor Otto.

Having trained with the team since the beginning of pre-season, the seven-time Matilda will be looking to cement a spot in City’s starting XI this season.

A-League Women’s Head Coach, Dario Vidosic, said:

“We’re pleased to have Karly back at the Club this year.

“Last season didn’t go the way she’d hoped in terms of injuries, but her attitude throughout never changed which is a testament to her character. We look forward to seeing her have a big impact for us on the pitch this season.”

Karly Roestbakken said:

“I loved my time here last season. Coming into a team and an environment where every player and staff member wanted to get better and grow was amazing. It’s where I needed to be and I absolutely fell in love with it.

“The Club itself and everything it stands for is what made me enjoy it, so it was a no-brainer to re-sign.

“I’m most looking forward to getting out there and playing with the girls again. We have a great group this season and what Dario is producing with the squad is looking great so far. The way he wants to play with the players we have is going to be very exciting to watch.”

2023/24 Melbourne City ALW Squad: Isabella ACCARDO, Melissa BARBIERI, Naomi CHINNAMA, Leah DAVIDSON, Daniela GALIC, Julia GROSSO, Bryleeh HENRY, Laura HUGHES, Caitlin KARIC, Leticia MCKENNA, Tijan MCKENNA, Holly MCNAMARA, Kiera MEYERS, Rhianna POLLICINA, Lysianne PROULX, Karly ROESTBAKKEN, Rebekah STOTT, Kaitlyn TORPEY, Leia VARLEY, Sophia VARLEY, Hannah WILKINSON.