Lisa De Vanna named in 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star Squad


Melbourne City FC star and Matildas captain Lisa De Vanna has added another international accolade to her burgeoning collection after being named in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup All-Star squad.

The Club’s inaugural Westfield W-League signing, De Vanna and Matildas team-mate Elise Kellond-Knight were among the 23 players selected by FIFA’s Technical Study Group, as Australia produced their best ever performance at a World Cup.

De Vanna starred as the focal point of the Matildas attack, becoming the first Australian female to score at three consecutive World Cup’s with goals against Sweden and eventual tournament winners United States.

The Matildas captured the hearts of the nation with a stellar victory over powerhouses Brazil – which was Australia’s first ever knockout win from a senior team at a football World Cup – but would ultimately lose 1-0 to Japan in the quarter-finals.

Manchester City FC trio Steph Houghton, Lucy Bronze and Karen Bardsley were also named in the squad, after England achieved their highest ever result at FIFA Women’s World Cup with a third place finish in Canada.

Golden Ball winner Carli Lloyd – who scored a sensational hat-trick against Japan in the final – is among five Americans in the squad, joining compatriot and Golden Glove recipient Hope Solo.

The squad, announced on Monday, was selected following a comprehensive tournament analysis from FIFA’s Technical Study Group.

Membership banner

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2015 All-Star Squad

Goalkeepers: Nadine Angerer, Karen Bardsley, Hope Solo

Defenders: Saori Ariyoshi, Lucy Bronze, Kadeisha Buchanan, Steph Houghton, Julie Johnston, Meghan Klingenberg, Wendie Renard

Midfielders and forwards: Ramona Bachmann,  Lisa De Vanna , Amandine Henry, Elise Kellond-Knight, Eugenie Le Sommer, Carli Lloyd, Anja Mittag, Aya Miyama, Megan Rapinoe, Mizuho Sakaguchi, Celia Sasic, Elodie Thomis, Rumi Utsugi

FFA Cup tickets