Match Preview: Wellington v City

The wait is over. The A-League Women’s season is finally here!

City will begin its season with an away trip to Wellington, in what will be the first time the team will travel across the ditch after the Phoenix were based in Australia for their debut season.

City’s squad this season features a mix of familiar names along with some fresh faces.

The likes of Emma Checker, Rhianna Pollicina, Leah Davidson and Kaitlyn Torpey are all once again back in City blue and look set for big seasons.

Bryleeh Henry, Katie Bowen, Daniela Galic and Maria Jose Rojas are a handful of the new recruits who’ll be hoping to make an instant impact come Sunday when City faces Wellington.

Another new face in Karly Roestbakken will miss the fixture due to a foot injury, joining New Zealand international and last season’s top-scorer in Hannah Wilkinson on the sidelines for the beginning of the season.

City’s attack in particular will also be a bit of a new look come Sunday, with Holly McNamara also missing for the early stages of the season due to an ACL injury suffered in the back end of last season.

Rojas may come straight into the line-up after only recently arriving from Cypriot club Apollon Ladies, where she was in hot form scoring six goals and assisting another four in just six games.

American attacker Emina Ekic along with Henry and Galic will also be doing everything they can to be named in Vidosic’s first starting XI for the season, with the likes of Rhianna Pollicina and Leah Davidson likely to be the first names on the team sheet sitting slightly deeper.

It’s tough to get a read on the Phoenix heading into the new season, but one thing for sure is there will be a big crowd behind them for what will be their first match in their home country.

The two teams met just once last season, City running away 4-0 winners at AAMI Park with Kaitlyn Torpey, Hannah Wilkinson and Emma Checker all amongst the goals.

Match Details

Liberty A-League: Round 1

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne City FC

Sky Stadium

Sunday 20 November, 1:00pm kick-off (AEDT)

Live and free on 10play!