Melbourne City FC Commences Inaugural National Premier Leagues 1 Campaign


Melbourne City FC commences its inaugural PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues (NPL) campaign on Saturday afternoon against Moreland City FC at JL Murphy Reserve, Port Melbourne.

Following the Club’s title-winning Foxtel National Youth League (FNYL) season, the Club’s youth system will be boosted by the inclusion of two Melbourne City FC youth development teams – in the NPL1 – Victoria’s second tier club competition – and at under-20s level.

Melbourne City FC will compete in the West conference, with the competition split across East and West, with 10 teams in each conference.

The competition will provide the Club with a ‘year-round’ youth pathway to the Hyundai A-League, with the additional inclusion of a Melbourne City FC team at the under-20s level.

FNYL title-winning Head Coach Joe Palatsides, who has been with the Club for three consecutive seasons, will oversee the operations of both teams as the Club’s Head of Academy Coaching.

“The NPL sides are crucial for our development of the next generation of National Youth League and A-League players,” Palatsides said.

“The Club is also proud of fostering local coaching talent and now has six local coaches from the Victorian football community involved across the youth and senior teams.”

The NPL1 team will be led by proven youth and former W-League coach Joe Montemurro, while Lachlan Armstrong has been appointed as the senior team’s Assistant Coach. Sam Frangos has been appointed as the NP1 Goalkeeping Coach.

Montemurro has a UEFA Pro Licence, and has vast experience within the Victorian youth system, having coached young boys and girls through the National Training Centre (NTC) program and youth teams at Victorian clubs Green Gully, Melbourne Knights and South Melbourne.

Montemurro has also coached at senior positions and said he was excited about the challenge of helping develop Melbourne City FC’s next generation.

“This is a great development for football at a local and youth level and I feel privileged to be able to be part of this program,” Montemurro said.

“With dedicated youth facilities at our new home at the City Football Academy, we are confident that we can get the best out of the young boys we have selected in a great environment.”

Both the NPL1 and under-20s teams will train at Melbourne City FC’s Academy Pitches, which are considered Hyundai A-League standard training pitches, located at the Club’s new headquarters at the City Football Academy, Melbourne.

Axia Building Group will be the team’s front of shirt partner, while City in the Community will be the team’s back-of-shirt which will raise further awareness of the Club’s award-winning Community program.

The top team from each NPL 1 conference will meet in the NPL 1 Grand Final on September 20, with the runner-up of each NPL 1 conference to play off for the chance to face the 12th-placed NPL team for a spot in the top-tier NPL in 2016.

About the PlayStation 4 National Premier Leagues

The National Premier Leagues (NPL) is a new national second tier competition in Australia which underpins the Hyundai A-League. The NPL operates in each Member Federation under a single national banner.

About Axia Building Group

Axia Building Group is a residential construction company that prides itself on building high-quality best-value-for-money family homes. In addition to building custom designed luxury homes, a key element of the business is land development (subdivision) and the provision of affordable housing options (such as town houses) in relatively high-cost inner-city suburbs (multi-dwelling development & knockdown rebuild). Whether you are building a family home or investment property Axia provides a comprehensive Project Management Service that encompassing the entire spectrum from project conception, feasibility and financial analysis, design, town planning and construction. Website: www.axiagroup.com.au

Melbourne City FC NPL Squad

  • Marko Stevanja
  • Yaren Sozer
  • Nicholas Symeoy
  • Matthew Millar
  • Tyler James
  • Phil Petreski
  • Luka Prelevic
  • Luke Gallo
  • Hernan Espindola
  • Wade Dekker
  • Marc Marino
  • Anthony Rizk
  • Tomislav Fadljevic
  • Baki Efe
  • Joseph Monek
  • Leo Athanasiou
  • Trey O’Sullivan
  • Anthony Taranto
  • Stefan Zinni
  • Haralambos Stamboulidis
  • Ratip Cileli
  • Nick Morton
  • Tom Podaridis
  • Mehdi Sarwari
  • Ali Eiygun
  • Jack West-Astuti
  • Morgan Filer
  • Baley Row
  • Michael Yoseski
  • Tom Barforosh
  • Alex Petropoulos
  • Yianni Skliros
  • Steven Lechowicz
  • Denis Genreau
  • Gerrie Sylaidios
  • Mersim Memeti
  • Dylan Pierias
  • Nicholas Georgiou
  • Connor Metcalfe
  • Nicolas Gonzalez
  • Darby Dexter

Melbourne City FC Fixtures

Round Opponent Date Time Venue
3 Moreland City Sat 7 Mar 3pm JL Murphy Reserve
4 Brunswick City Sat 21 Mar 3pm Dunstan Reserve
5 Springvale White Eagles Sat 28 Mar 3pm White Eagles Stadium
1 Whittlesea Ranges Wed 1 Apr 8:30pm Epping Stadium
6 FC Bulleen Lions Mon 6 Apr 8:30pm David Barro Stadium
7 Nunawading City Sun 12 Apr 3pm Mahoneys Reserve
8 Melbourne Victory Sat 18 Apr 3pm TBC
9 Ballarat Red Devils Sat 25 Apr 3pm Morshead Park Stadium
10 Box Hill United Sat 2 May 3:15pm Wembley Park
11 Moreland Zebras Sat 9 May 4pm CB Smith Reserve
12 Sunshine George Cross Sat 16 May 3pm Chaplin Reserve
13 Murray United Sat 23 May 3pm Diamonds on La Trobe
14 Whittlesea Ranges Sat 30 May 3pm Epping Stadium
15 Bendigo City Sat 6 Jun 3pm Epsom Huntly Reserve
16 Richmond Fri 12 Jun 8:30pm Kevin Bartlett Reserve
17 St Albans Saints Sat 20 Jun 3pm Churchill Reserve
18 Moreland City Sat 27 Jun 3pm Campbell Reserve
19 Dandenong City Sat 4 Jul 3pm Frank Holohan Soccer Complex
20 Bendigo City Sat 11 Jul 3pm Epsom Huntly Reserve
21 Eastern Lions Sat 18 Jul 3pm Gardiners Creek Reserve
22 Brunswick City Sat 25 Jul 3pm Dunstan Reserve
2 St Albans Saints Sat 1 Aug 3pm Churchill Reserve
23 Goulburn Valley Suns Sat 8 Aug 5pm John McEwen Reserve
24 FC Bulleen Lions Mon 27 Aug 8:30pm David Barro Stadium
25 Ballarat Red Devils Sat 22 Aug 3pm Morshead Park Stadium
26 Kingston City Mon 31 Aug 8:30pm The Grange Reserve
27 Moreland Zebras Sat 5 Sep 4pm CB Smith Reserve
28 Sunshine George Cross Sat 12 Sep 3pm Chaplin Reserve