Mooy and Fornaroli make A-League Fans Team of the Season


City stand-out duo Aaron Mooy and Bruno Fornaroli have been selected in the A-League’s Fans Team of the Season.

The midfield maestro and the league’s Golden Boot winner were unanimous inductees into their respective positions, with Mooy polling 25% of the vote for midfielders and Fornaroli picking up 26.6% of the forward’s vote.

Unlucky not to make the team was Goalkeeper of the Year Thomas Sorensen and Harry Novillo, making up the City contingent in the poll.

Hyundai A-League Fans Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United) 38.48%

Defenders: Craig Goodwin (Adelaide United) 20%, Matthieu Delpierre (Melbourne Victory) 12.26%, Dylan McGowan (Adelaide United) 17.24%, Josh Risdon (Perth Glory) 12.59%

Midfielders: Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City) 25%, Stefan Mauk (Adelaide United) 15.56%, Marcelo Carrusca (Adelaide United) 14.9%

Strikers: Brendon Santalab (Western Sydney Wanderers) 30%, Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City) 26.6%, Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar) 21%

Bench: Andrew Redmayne (Western Sydney Wanderers) 18.58%, Scott Jamieson (Western Sydney Wanderers) 11%, Diego Castro (Perth Glory) 13.89%, Andy Keogh (Perth Glory) 8.08%

Coach: Guillermo Amor (Adelaide United) 62%