Opening rounds of the 2021/22 season announced!

A revised start date as well as our opening fixtures of the new A-League and W-League seasons are here – and there are plenty of highlights for City fans! 

The A-League Champions kick off the 2021/22 season on Friday 19 November. City fans will get the chance to see their team in action at AAMI Park on the opening night, with a clash against Brisbane Roar kicking off at 7:45pm.

The new A-League season will begin in a conference system, where we’ll be joined by the two other Victorian teams, Adelaide United, Perth Glory, and Brisbane Roar.

City will also be in action on the first night of the W-League season with Rado Vidosic’s squad set to take on Canberra United away from home on Friday 3 December.

The much-anticipated Christmas Derby will return with a bang, City hosting the fixture on Saturday 18 December as part of a huge double-header at AAMI Park.

Emma Checker and co. will kick things off against Adelaide United at 5:05pm, before Scott Jamieson’s men look for a repeat of last season’s Derby results at 7:45pm.

After missing out on plenty of football over the last 18 months, City fans will have plenty of opportunities to see their teams in action. The A-League Champions will play four of their first five matches at home, while three of our first W-League fixtures will be in Melbourne.

City fans will be counting down the days until November 19 (we’ve checked for you, its 57 currently…) when they will be able to see the Champions, as well as new signings Mathew Leckie and Manuel Pucciarelli for the first time.

Ensure you’re at AAMI Park to see the action this season! Head to citymembership.com.au to sign up as a City Member today.

Please note: We are in regular contact with AAMI Park and Victorian Government regarding crowd capacity and any changes to the stadium’s Covid safe plan. At this stage, we are still working together to understand what restrictions will be in place. As soon as we have further information, we will share it with City fans.