Orlando out, Mifsud, Mauk in for Albury match


Melbourne Heart FC has named a 17-man squad for Sunday’s test against Perth Glory at Albury’s Lavington Sports Ground.

Melbourne Heart FC has named a 17-man squad for Sunday’s test against Perth Glory at Albury’s Lavington Sports Ground.

With Orlando Engelaar suspended for the match – the Dutchman received one match suspension following a straight red card against Sydney FC last Friday – there will be competition for his place in midfield, with Head Coach John van’t Schip forced to find cover.

Engelaar’s obvious replacement could be Nick Kalmar, but with the fit-again Jonatan Germano registering a man-of-the-match performance against Sydney, there is plenty of competition for places across midfield.

The midfield battle may also give Stefan Mauk, who has been included in the weekend’s squad, the opportunity to step up in midfield.

Melbourne Heart have failed to defeat Perth Glory in the last two attempts, with the Red and White having to travel to nib Stadium on both occasions already this season.

Perth is the only side to have defeated Melbourne Heart in 2014, with the Red and White recording two wins, two draws and a solitary loss since the New Year.

Van’t Schip’s side illustrated its potency against Sydney FC last week, and the team’s top goalscorer, David Williams, may also have put up his hand for a starting berth after his impressive impact off the bench.

For Glory, Rostyn Griffiths, Jamie Maclaren and Sidnei Moraes have all been included in the visitor’s squad, while marquee William Gallas is set to take the field against the Heart.

Check out all of the ins and outs for both teams below.

Sunday, 9 February 2014
Melbourne Heart FC v Perth Glory
Lavington Sports Ground, Albury
Kick-off: 3:00pm local (3:00pm AEDT)
Referee: Lucien Laverdure
Assistant Referee 1: George Lakrindis
Assistant Referee 2: Jonathan Barreiro
Fourth Official: Alex Azcurra
TV Broadcast: 2.30pm (AEDT) Live and exclusive coverage on FOX Sports 1HD and Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand).
Radio Broadcast: 774 ABC Melbourne, ABC Local Radio Vic 720 ABC Perth, ABC Local Radio WA Grandstand Digital, Online/Mobile phone app
Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #MHTvPER
To purchase tickets visit http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/aleague/tickets.

Melbourne Heart FC Squad: 1.Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 3.Robbie WIELAERT, 6.Patrick GERHARDT, 7.Iain RAMSAY, 8.Massimo MURDOCCA, 10.Harry KEWELL (C), 11.Michael MIFSUD, 13.Jonatan GERMANO, 15.David WILLIAMS, 16.Aziz BEHICH, 17.Jason HOFFMAN, 19.Benjamin GARUCCIO, 20.Tando VELAPHI (GK), 21.Stefan MAUK, 22.Nick KALMAR, 23.Mate DUGANDZIC, 24.Patrick KISNORBO
**one to be omitted**
Ins: 21.Stefan MAUK (promoted), 11.Michael MIFSUD (promoted)
Outs: 4.Orlando ENGELAAR (suspension – one week)
Unavailable: Nil

Perth Glory Squad: 1.Daniel VUKOVIC (GK), 2.Jack CLISBY, 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS, 7.Jacob BURNS (c), 8.Nebojsa MARINKOVIC, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Jamie MACLAREN, 14.Steven McGARRY, 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES, 17.Chris HAROLD, 18.Jack DUNCAN, 19.Josh RISDON, 23.Michael THWAITE, 25.Riley WOODCOCK, 28.Darvydas SERNAS, 36.William GALLAS
Ins: 5.Rostyn GRIFFITHS (promoted), 10.Jamie MACLAREN (promoted), 16.Sidnei SCIOLA MORAES (promoted)
Outs: 4.Ryan EDWARDS (omitted), 11.Adrian ZAHRA (omitted), 20.Danny DE SILVA (omitted)
Unavailable: Travis DODD (knee – indefinite), Scott JAMIESON (achilles – indefinite)