Team News: City v Sydney


The teams are in for Saturday’s clash with Sydney FC. See who’s in and who’s out of this week’s side.

City go from strength to strength this week with the inclusion of Harry Novillo and Connor Chapman to the extended side to face the Sky Blues.

After eleven weeks on the sideline, Chapman makes his long-awaited return from a MCL tear sustained during our Round 10 clash in Newcastle while the Frenchman returns to the side from a Club-imposed suspension.

Competition for spots in the City lineup is heating up for John van’t Schip’s side and it can only mean good things for City as they look to establish themselves in the top six.

Much has been made of Sydney’s busy schedule and out’s for this week’s contest however their win over Asian Champions Guagnzhou Evergrande mid-week in the Champions League will see Graham Arnold’s men enter the contest with an air of confidence.

Five players that featured in last week’s 1-1 draw with Melbourne Victory at AAMI Park will sit out this week’s contest with at least one injured and five suspended.

This will not faze the Sydneysiders after taking the scalp of one of Asia’s biggest clubs during the week and picking up a draw with the Hyundai A-League champions last Saturday.

last 4 banner

Match Details

Saturday 5 March

Melbourne City FC v Sydney FC

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick off: 7:30pm AEDT

Tickets online via Ticketek

Melbourne City squad: 1. Thomas SORENSEN (GK), 2. Alex WILKINSON, 4. Connor CHAPMAN, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 8. Aaron MOOY, 9. Harry NOVILLO, 11. Michael ZULLO, 14. James BROWN, 18. Paulo RETRE, 19. Ben GARUCCIO, 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 23. Bruno FORNAROLI, 24. Patrick KISNORBO, 25. Jacob MELLING, 26. Marc MARINO, 27. Nick FITZGERALD, 29. Anthony CACERES, 33. Osama MALIK

Ins: 4. Connor CHAPMAN (returns from injury), 9. Harry NOVILLO (promoted)

Outs: Nil

Unavailable: 7. Corey GAMEIRO (knee – season)

Sydney FC squad:  1. Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 4. Zac ANDERSON, 5. Matt JURMAN, 6. Rob STAMBOLZIEV, 7.Andrew HOOLE, 8. Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9. Shane SMELTZ, 10. Milos NINKOVIC, 11. Christopher NAUMOFF, 13. Brandon O’NEILL, 18. Matt SIMON , 20. Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 21. Filip HOLOSKO, 22. Ali ABBAS, 24. George BLACKWOOD, 25. Aaron CALVER, 27. Mickael TAVARES, 29. Alex MULLEN

*two to be omitted*

Ins: 4. Zac ANDERSON (promoted), 7.Andrew HOOLE (promoted), 11. Christopher NAUMOFF (promoted), 22. Ali ABBAS (promoted), 24. George BLACKWOOD  (promoted), 27. Mickael TAVARES (promoted), 29. Alex MULLEN (promoted)

Outs: 2. Seb RYALL (suspended 1 week), 14. Alex BROSQUE (hamstring indefinite), 17. David CARNEY (suspended 1 week), 19. Jacques FATY (suspended 1 week), 23. Rhyan GRANT (suspended 1 week)