Team News: Joyce selects first squad for Round 1


The teams are in for Friday night’s clash with Brisbane Roar at AAMI Park. See who Warren Joyce has selected in the extended squad for his first A-League match in charge.

City head into Friday night’s clash with a strong, experience line-up to take on the Roar and it hasn’t taken long for the new coach to have his selection headaches.

The exclusions first and it’s the South American duo on the long-term injury list that remain out of action. Fernando Brandan is ahead of Bruno Fornaroli in his estimated return but it is too early to make a prediction on when they will be back to full fitness and ready for selection. Neil Kilkenny will also miss this weeks clash after recovering from the flu. He’s on track to be available next week.

Tim Cahill is away with the Socceroos as they embark on their play-off journey in Malaysia and with the Socceroos back in Sydney on Tuesday night, Cahill is still on the cards to play some role in next week’s Melbourne Derby.

On Thursday Warren Joyce gave little away on his squad selection but hinted at a debut for Ross McCormack in the front third. The Scotsman has had three sessions with the Club but his fitness and form on the track his impressed the coaching staff.

Competition all over the park means starting positions are still up in the air for Round 1 and the Head Coach will have the hard task of narrowing the squad as he sees best fit to take on the Roar on Friday.

Don’t miss City take on Brisbane this Friday night at AAMI Park, kick-off 7.50pm. Click here to get your tickets to the match or click here to sign up as a member!

Melbourne City FC Squad: 1. Dean Bouzanis, 2. Manny Muscat, 3. Scott Jamieson, 5. Bart Schenkeveld, 6. Osama Malik, 7. Nick Fitzgerald, 9. Marcelo Carrusca, 11. Bruce Kamau, 12. Braedyn Crowley, 13. Stefan Mauk, 14. Daniel Arzani, 18. Eugene Galekovic, 21. Ruon Tongyik, 22. Michael Jakobsen, 25. Iacopo La Rocca, 26. Luke Brattan, 27. Marcin Budzinski, 44. Ross McCormack

Unavailable: 10. Fernando Brandan (ACL), 17. Tim Cahill (international duty), 8. Neil Kilkenny (flu), 23. Bruno Fornaroli (ankle).