Team News: Melbourne City vs Western Sydney Wanderers


The teams are in for Saturday’s massive Hyundai A-League clash against Western Sydney Wanderers at AAMI Park. See who’s in and who’s out of this week’s side!

After fielding a relatively under-strength squad in the 2-2 draw against Sydney FC last week, City welcome back key midfield duo Aaron Mooy and Erik Paartalu from injury, while Paulo Retre also returns to the squad after completing a one-match suspension.

Goalkeeper Dean Bouzanis is eligible to face his former club after joining City as a replacement for Tando Velaphi, who has left the Club to pursue another opportunity overseas, with forward David Williams also named in the extended squad in place of Hernan Espindola.

Head Coach John van’t Schip will be unable to call upon the services of Stefan Mauk until the end of January, after the midfielder’s impressive performances earned him a place in the Olyroos 23-man squad for the AFC U-23 Asian Championships in Doha, which runs from 14-30 January.

The Wanderers’ will be without first-choice right-back Scott Neville due to suspension, while goalkeeper Liam Reddy is available for selection after joining the club from Central Coast Mariners, as Tony Popovic’s side arrive at AAMI Park on the back of a ten match unbeaten streak.


Match Details

Saturday, 9 January 2016

Melbourne City FC v Western Sydney Wanderers FC

AAMI Park, Melbourne

Kick-Off: 7:30 PM (Local) (7:30 PM (AEDT))

Referee: Jarred Gillett

Assistant Referee 1: Nathan MacDonald

Assistant Referee 2: Brad Hobson

Fourth Official: Shaun Evans

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: 774 ABC Melbourne, 702 ABC Sydney, 666 ABC Canberra, ABC Local Radio Vic, ABC Local Radio NSW, Grandstand Digital, online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #MCYvWSW

To purchase tickets visit www.a-league.com.au/tickets


Melbourne City FC squad: 1. Thomas SORENSEN (GK),  3. Aaron HUGHES, 6. Erik PAARTALU, 8. Aaron MOOY, 9. Harry NOVILLO, 10. Robert KOREN, 11. Michael ZULLO, 15. David WILLIAMS, 16. Jason TRIFIRO, 18. Paul RETRE, 19. Ben GARUCCIO, 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 22. Jack CLISBY, 23. Bruno FORNAROLI, 24. Patrick KISNORBO (C), 25. Jacob MELLING, 30. Hernan ESPINDOLA, 36. Matt MILLAR, 39. Ali EYIGUN

 ***Two to be omitted***

Ins: 6. Erik PAARTALU (returns from injury), 8. Aaron MOOY (returns from injury), 15. David WILLIAMS, 18. Paulo RETRE (returns from suspension), 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK) (incoming transfer),

Outs: 20. Tando VELAPHI (released), 21. Stefan MAUK (international duty – Olyroos), 30. Hernan ESPINDOLA (omitted)

Unavailable: 4. Connor CHAPMAN (knee – 2-3 months), 5. Ivan FRANJIC (fitness test), 7. Corey GAMEIRO (knee – season), 14. James BROWN (foot – 1 week), 26. Marc MARINO (knee – 2-3 weeks)


Western Sydney Wanderers FC squad: 3.Scott JAMIESON, 4.Nikolai TOPOR-STANLEY (c), 6.Mitch NICHOLS, 7.Romeo CASTELEN, 8.DIMAS, 9.Federico PIOVACCARI, 10.Dario VIDOSIC, 11.Brendon SANTALAB, 14.Golgol MEBRAHTU, 15.Kearyn BACCUS, 16.Jaushua SOTIRIO, 17.ALBERTO, 18.ANDREU, 19.Mark BRIDGE, 20.Andrew REDMAYNE (GK), 21.Jacob PEPPER, 22.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS, 30.Liam REDDY (gk)

**two to be omitted**

Ins: 15.Kearyn BACCUS (promoted), 16.Jaushua SOTIRIO (promoted), 22.Jonathan ASPROPOTAMITIS (promoted), 30.Liam REDDY (GK) (new signing)

Outs: 1.Dean BOUZANIS (gk) (transfer – Melbourne City FC), 12.Scott NEVILLE (suspended – 1 week)

Unavailable: Nil