Team News: Phoenix v City


The teams are in for Friday night’s crucial clash with Wellington in New Zealand. See who’s in and who’s out of this week’s side.

As the run to the Hyundai A-League Finals Series heats up, so too is the competition for spots in the Melbourne City lineup with the return of James Brown and Marc Marino from long-term injury list.

Marino makes his return to the side after working his way back to full fitness from a knee injury he picked up in the pre-season against North Geelong Warriors while Brown makes it eleven months since he last appeared on a Melbourne City teamsheet, recovering from a debilitating foot injury.

With Connor Chapman only a week away, City have only one player on their long-term injury list as Corey Gameiro continues his rehabilitation from an ACL injury sustained earlier in the season.

Anthony Caceres also returns to the lineup that will be cut down to 16 90 minutes before kick-off.

The topsy-turvy Phoenix have been buoyed by the news that the club has been granted a ten-year licence extension in the A-League however that didn’t translate into a result on the pitch last week as they fell to Newcastle 3-2.

Troy Danaskos, Alex Rodriguez and Logan Roger have been included in Ernie Merrick’s extended squad with Hamish Watson missing out due to suspension.

City take on the Nix at 5:30pm Melbourne time. Catch all the action live on Fox Sports 505 from 5:00pm or follow our live updates on Twitter @MelbourneCity.

4 banner

Match Details

Friday, 26 February 2016

Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne City FC

Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Kick-Off: 7:30 PM (Local) (5:30 PM (AEDT))

Referee: Matthew Conger

Assistant Referee 1: Mark Rule

Assistant Referee 2: Glen Lochrie

Fourth Official: Stephen Lucas

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 5.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 3 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live.

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #WELvMCY

To purchase tickets visit www.aleague.com.au/tickets

Wellington Phoenix squad: 1. Glen MOSS (GK), 2. Manny MUSCAT, 4. Roly BONEVACIA, 5. Troy DANASKOS, 6. Dylan FOX, 8. Alex RODRIGUEZ, 10. Michael MCGLINCHEY, 11. Kwabena APPIAH, 12. Blake POWELL, 13. Albert RIERA, 15. James MCGARRY, 16. Louis FENTON, 18. Ben SIGMUND, 19. Tom DOYLE, 20. Lewis ITALIANO (GK), 22. Andrew DURANTE (captain), 23. Matthew RIDENTON, 24. Logan ROGERSON, 24. **Two to be omitted**

Ins: 5. Troy DANASKOS (promoted), 8. Alex RODRIGUEZ (returns from injury), 24. Logan ROGERSON (promoted).

Outs: 26. Hamish WATSON (suspended).

Unavailable: 14. Alex RUFER (broken leg, season), 17. Vince LIA (knee injury 2 to 3 weeks), 21.Roy KRISHNA (ankle injury 10 to 12 weeks), 26. Hamish WATSON (suspended).

Melbourne City FC: 1. Thomas SORENSEN (GK), 2. Alex WILKINSON, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 8. Aaron MOOY, 11. Michael ZULLO, 14. James BROWN, 18. Paulo RETRE, 19. Ben GARUCCIO, 20. Dean BOUZANIS (GK), 22. Jack CLISBY, 23. Bruno FORNAROLI, 24. Patrick KISNORBO (C), 25. Jacob MELLING, 26. Marc MARINO, 27. Nick FITZGERALD, 28. Steve KUZMANOVSKI, 9. Anthony CACERES, 33. Osama MALIK ***two to be omitted***

Ins: 14. James BROWN (promoted), 26. Marc MARINO (promoted), 29. Anthony CACERES (returns from suspension)

Outs: , 17. Wade DEKKER (omitted)

Unavailable: 7. Corey GAMEIRO (knee – season)