Team News: Squad locked in for Wellington trip

The A-League Women’s season is fast-approaching, with a trip across the ditch first up for Melbourne City this Sunday.

Head Coach Rado Vidosic has named his squad for the season opener, with a few key talking points to come out of it.

It was announced on Thursday morning that Hannah Wilkinson would miss the beginning of the season, with Maria Jose Rojas slotted straight into the squad after signing as an injury replacement.

New signings Katie Bowen, Bryleeh Henry, Julia Grosso, Daniela Galic and Emina Ekic all have been named are look set to make their City debuts.

The news isn’t as good for another new signing in Karly Roestbakken, with the Matildas defender missing due to a foot injury.

Melbourne City FC squad: 1. Sally JAMES (GK), 3. Naomi CHINNAMA, 4. Chelsea BLISSETT, 6. Leticia MCKENNA, 7. Julia GROSSO, 8. Kaitlyn TORPEY, 10. Rhianna POLLICINA, 13. Emina EKIC, 14. Katie BOWEN, 15. Emma CHECKER (C), 18. Leah DAVIDSON, 19. Maria Jose ROJAS, 20. Caitlin KARIC, 21. Isabella ACCARDO, 22. Bryleeh HENRY, 23. Melissa BARBIERI (GK), 24. Daniela GALIC, 25. Darcey MALONE.

Unavailable: 5. Tori TUMETH (ACL), 9. Holly MCNAMARA (ACL), 16. Karly ROESTBAKKEN (foot), 17. Hannah WILKINSON (quad).