Team News: Sydney FC v Melbourne City FC


The teams are in for our season opener as Melbourne City FC prepare for Sydney FC on Saturday night.

The much anticipated start to season 11 of the Hyundai A-League is here as Melbourne City FC travel to Allianz Stadium on Saturday night to face Sydney FC.

After reaching the Semi-Finals of the Westfield FFA Cup over the pre-season, City will look to continue its strong on-field performances against last year’s Grand Finalists.

City come into the clash with marquee man Aaron Mooy a chance to return for the clash, jetting in to Sydney after the Socceroos’ clash with Jordan on Thursday.

Thomas Sorensen, Michael Zullo, Jason Trifiro, Wade Dekker, Bruno Fornaroli, Callum Richardson, Steve Kuzmanovski, Stefan Zinni and Hernan Espindola are all in contention to pick up their first Hyundai A-League appearance for Melbourne City FC with the extended squad to be cut to 16 before kick-off.

Membership banner

Match Details

Saturday, 10 October 2015

Sydney FC v Melbourne City FC

Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Kick-Off: 7:30 PM (Local) (7:30 PM (AEDT))

Referee: Ben Williams

Assistant Referee 1: Allyson Flynn

Assistant Referee 2: Owen Goldrick

Fourth Official: Matthew Cropper

TV Broadcast: Live coverage on FOX SPORTS 505 from 7.00pm (AEDT) and Sky Sport 2 (New Zealand)

Radio Broadcast: 702 ABC Sydney & ABC Local Radio NSW, 774 ABC Melbourne & ABC Local Radio Victoria, Grandstand Digital, Online & via the ABC Radio Mobile App – A-league Live

Join the conversation on Twitter using the hash-tag #SYDvMCY

To purchase tickets visit www.aleague.com.au/tickets

Sydney FC squad: 1.Vedran JANJETOVIC (gk), 2.Seb RYALL, 4.Zac ANDERSON, 5.Matt JURMAN, 6.Rob STAMBOLZIEV, 8.Milos DIMITRIJEVIC, 9.Shane SMELTZ, 10.Milos NINKOVIC, 13.Brandon O’NEILL, 14.Alex BROSQUE (c), 18.Matt SIMON, 19.Jacques FATY, 20.Ivan NECEVSKI (gk), 21.Filip HOLOSKO, 23.Rhyan GRANT, 24.George BLACKWOOD, 25.Aaron CALVER, 27.Mickael TAVARES

**two to be omitted**

Ins: nil

Outs: nil

Unavailable: 7.Andrew HOOLE (international duty), 11.Christopher NAUMOFF (international duty), 22.Ali ABBAS (knee – indefinite)

Melbourne City FC squad: 1.Thomas SORENSEN (gk), 4.Connor CHAPMAN, 6.Erik PAARTALU, 8.Aaron MOOY, 10.Robert KOREN, 11.Michael ZULLO, 16.Jason TRIFIRO, 17.Wade DEKKER, 18.Paulo RETRE, 20.Tando VELAPHI (gk), 22.Jack CLISBY, 23.Bruno FORNAROLI, 24.Patrick KISNORBO (c), 25.Jacob MELLING, 27.Callum RICHARDSON, 28.Steve KUZMANOVSKI, 29.Stefan ZINNI, 30.Hernan ESPINDOLA

**two to be omitted**

Ins: nil

Outs: nil

Unavailable: 3.Aaron HUGHES (international duty), 5.Ivan FRANJIC (quad – 5-7 weeks), 7.Corey GAMEIRO (knee – 1-2 weeks), 9.Harry NOVILLO (hamstring – 4-5 weeks), 14.James BROWN (foot – TBC), 19.Ben GARUCCIO (foot – 1-2 weeks), 21.Stefan MAUK (international duty), 26.Marc MARINO (knee – 3 months)