W-League: City enters New Year on a high


Melbourne City FC has kicked off the New Year in style, defeating Western Sydney Wanderers 4-0 at CB Smith Reserve.

Kim Little netted a first half brace for the hosts before Beattie Goad and Marianna Tabain added to scoreline in the second interval.

It was the 11th straight win for Joe Montemurro’s side, a week after taking out the 2015-16 Westfield W-League Premier’s Plate.



It took only 12 minutes for Little to score her first.

Steph Catley whipped in a fantastic cross to the Scot at the back post, who scored on her converted attempt after ‘keeper Teagan Micah blocked Little’s first effort.

An early goal saw City dictate possession as Micah was forced into action on a number of occasions.

The custodian first denied Jennifer Beattie’s goalward header before pulling off a fantastic point-blank save to foil Alex Chidiac from six yards.

However Micah was the offender for City’s second, bringing down Jess Fishlock inside the area.

Little assumed the responsibilities from the spot, adding her second midway through the opening 45 minutes.

Upon the restart of play, City continued its momentum.

Westfield W-League leading goal scorer Larissa Crummer was unlucky not to add to her 11 goal tally this season after creating a handful of opportunities.

Goad then struck just after the hour mark with her third goal of the season.

Little dribbled into the area and laid the ball off to the unmarked teenager, who steered her attempt into the back-of-the-net.

Substitute Tabain then capped off the result moments after being introduced into the contest.

Driving towards the near post, Crummer cut-back for Tabain who netted her seventh goal of the campaign.

With a week off, Melbourne City will next host Sydney FC on 16 January while the seventh placed Wanderers take on Canberra United.

Match Details:

Melbourne City FC – 4 (Little 12’, 33’, Goad 67’, Tabian 70’)

Western Sydney Wanderers – 0

Melbourne City FC: 1. Brianna DAVEY (gk), 3. Alexandra CHIDIAC (17. Marianna TABAIN 63’), 4. Jennifer BEATTIE, 6. Aivi LUIK (5. Laura ALLEWAY 46’), 7. Steph CATLEY, 8. Kim LITLLE, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 10. Jess FISHLOCK ©, 13. Rebekah STOTT, 15. Amy JACKSON, 16. Beattie GOAD (18. Anisa GUAJARDO 79’).

Unused Substitutes: 20. Trudy Burke (gk)

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Western Sydney Wanderers: 1. Teagan MICAH (gk), 2. Caitlin COOPER ©, 3. Carmerlina MOSCATO, 4. Chloe O’BRIEN, 4. Kendall JOHNSON, 8. Erica HALLOWAY, 10. Michelle CARNEY, 11. Keelin WINTERS, 12. Hannah BEARD (13. Eliza AMMENDOLIA 70’), 15. Ellie CARPENTER, 19. Jordan BAKER (9. Elizabeth GREY 70’)

Unused Substitutes: 30. Lisa FARRINGTON (gk), 6. Rachael SOUTER.

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None