W-League: City fire four past Glory


Melbourne City FC has won its record ninth straight win of the 2015-16 Westfield W-League season, defeating Perth Glory 4-0 at CB Smith Reserve on Sunday.

The hosts equaled Sydney FC’s tally set in 2009-10, with Kim little and Marianna Tabain, Larissa Crummer and Jess Fishlock scoring after the break.

Melbourne City FC head coach opted to maintain the same formation from last week’s victort over Newcastle with Rebekah Stott replacing the injured Laura Alleway as part of a back three.


The hosts should have however taken the lead within the opening 45 minutes.

Skipper Lisa De Vanna lobbed her attempt just over the bar from close range before Steph Catley had her effort from six yards deflected out for a corner ten minutes later.

Glory ‘keeper MacKenzie Arnold was on call a number of times throughout the first half.

The custodian thwarted Rebekah Stott’s long-range strike before punching clear a number of crosses.

Matilda Caitlin Foord tried her best to get her side on the score sheet, shooting from range with troubling Brianna Davey in goals.

However the deadlock was broken just after the hour mark.

Little dribbled her way into the area, striking powerfully into the top corner to hand her side the lead.

Substitute Tabain was next to capitalise on her side’s momentum.

With her first touch of the match, the attacker netted for the fifth time this season after latching onto a loose ball inside the penalty area.

A win on December 28 agianst Brisbane Roar would see Melbourne City take out the 2015-16 Premiership.



Crummer – the Westfield W-League’s leading goal scorer – then added her 11th goal of the season, side footing in De Vanna’s cross between two defenders, before Fishlock finished Kim Little’s through ball in the 93rd minute.

Match Details:

Melbourne City FC – 4 (Little 62’, Tabain 68’, Crummer 83’, Fishlock 90+3’_

Perth Glory – 0

Attendance: 453

Melbourne City FC: 1. Brianna DAVEY (gk), 4. Jennifer BEATTIE, 6. Aivi LUIK, 7. Steph CATLEY, 8. Kim LITTLE, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 11. Lisa DE VANNA ©, 13. Rebekah STOTT, 15. Amy JACKSON, 16. Beattie GOAD (17. Marianna TABAIN 76’).

Unused Substitutes: 20. Trudy BURKE (gk), 3. Alex CHIDIAC, 18. Anisa GUAJARDO.

Yellow Cards: None

Red Cards: None

Perth Glory FC: 1. Mackenzie ARNOLD (gk), 3. Kim CARROLL ©, 4. Katie HOLTHAM, 5. Shannon MAY, 6. Carla BENNETT (14. Caitlin DOEGLAS 58’), 7. Nicole STANTON, 9. Caitlin FOORD, 11. Emily HENDERSON, 13. Danielle BROGAN, 16. Thai EASTMAN (8.Shawn BILLAM 69’), 23. Vanessa DI BERNARDO.

Unused Substitute: 18. Gabrielle DAL BUSCO (gk), 19. Ella MASTRANTONIO.

Yellow Cards: Brogan (33’), Billam (75’).

Red Cards: None