W-League: Premiership in touching distance


Currently placed eight points clear of the competition, a win tomorrow could see Melbourne City FC seal the 2015-16 Westfield W-League premiership if second placed Canberra United were to drop points to Melbourne Victory this afternoon.

City has enjoyed an excellent introduction into the W-League, collecting maximum points from its opening eight fixtures.

Nevertheless, if Canberra were to defeat Victory today, six points out of a possible 12 would see City take out the premiership in its debut campaign.



Montemurro’s girls however recieved their biggest test of the season last weekend, defeating a stubborn Newcastle Jets outfit 1-0 at Hunter Stadium.

Beattie Goad struck just before half time as a tinkered Melbourne City FC made it eight-straight in the Westfield W-League.

Sitting one point out of the top four, last year’s premiers, Perth Glory, will be aiming to take all three points at CB Smith Reserve.

Despite taking an early lead, Bobby Despotovski’s seventh placed outfit were on the wrong end of a 4-2 scoreline last weekend against Sydney FC.

The last time these two sides met in Round 3, City ran out as comfortable 4-0 victors and Ashfield Reserve.

Larissa Crummer netted a double while Marianna Tabain and Lisa De Vanna also found the back-of-the-net.

Montemurro’s chargers will be aiming to capitalise towards the back end of the season with three of its four remaining fixtures on home soil.

City will travel north to Brisbane after Christmas before closing out the 2015-16 campaign against Sydney FC and the Wanderers at CB Smith Reserve. 

Melbourne City v Perth Glory
Sunday 20 December 2015
C.B. Smith Reserve, Melbourne
Local kick-off: 4pm

Join the conversation on Twitter using match hashtag #MCYvPER

* Listen LIVE on TuneIn – http://tunein.com/radio/Melbourne-City-W-League-Live-s256286/

Melbourne City squad: 1. Brianna Davey (gk), 3. Alex Chidiac, 4. Jennifer Beattie, 6. Aivi Luik, 7. Stephanie Catley, 8. Kim Little, 9. Larissa Crummer, 10. Jessica Fishlock, 11. Lisa De Vanna, 13. Rebekah Stott, 15. Amy Jackson, 16. Beattie Goad, 17. Marianna Tabain, 18. Anisa Guajardo, 20. Trudy Burke (gk)              

Ins: Anisa Guajardo (promoted)

Outs: Laura Alleway (omitted)

Unavailable: Monique Iannella (knee – indefinite)