W-League Report: Sydney 1-2 City


Melbourne City FC knocked off reigning champions Sydney FC 2-1 in an entertaining clash at Cromer Park in Sydney on Sunday afternoon. 

Emily van Egmond opened the scoring in the opening minutes, before Sofia Huerta levelled the scores from close range on the 40th minute mark. 

With 14 minutes of regulation time remaining, Milica Mijatovic fired home from Ellie Carpenter’s cross to secure a massive win on the road and extend City’s unbeaten start to the season. 

Starting XI 

Milica Mijatovic replaced Aivi Luik in the starting line up as Sofia Sakalis moved onto to the bench. 

What happened?

In hazy conditions in Sydney, Head Coach Rado Vidosic’s side looked to make their mark early as the two unbeaten sides went head-to-head at Cromer Park. 

It took just three minutes for Emily van Egmond to open the scoring, meeting Milica Mijatovic’s wonderful run with a perfectly placed first time finish to secure her third goal in four games. 

The hosts responded strongly, as Ibini had two golden opportunities to equalise, first blazing her effort over the crossbar before Lydia Williams produced a strong save to deny the attacker. 

On the 18th minute mark, City went inches away from doubling their lead as Yukari Kinga found Claire Emslie who struck the woodwork. 

With five minutes left to play in the first half, the Sky Blues struck through Sofia Huerta who made no mistake from close range. 

The hosts came out of the blocks firing in the second period, as Williams made a number of saves to keep her side in it. 

City continued to drive forwards when the opportunity presented itself, and went close again as Steph Catley fired her effort straight at Bledsloe. 

In the 76th minute, City restored their advantage as Mijatovic fired home the winner from the edge of the area after latching onto Carpenter’s fierce cross. 

Sydney looked to respond, although City’s defence stood tall in the closing stages. 

What’s next?

City host Melbourne Victory in a blockbuster Melbourne Derby on Thursday 12 December at ABD Stadium, kick off 7:30pm.