W-League: Sydney FC 0-6 Melbourne City FC


Melbourne City FC have started their inaugural Westfield W-League campaign with a comprehensive 6-0 win over Sydney FC on Sunday afternoon.

Goals to Larissa Crummer, Lisa De Vanna, Beatie Goad, Marianna Tabain and Ayres sealed victory for City in their first ever match in the competition to consign the Sky Blues to an opening day defeat.

Sydney FC conceded early with Crummer bursting into the box and rounding Michelle Betos to tap home, however the Sky Blues eased into the match as they found their rhythm fifteen minutes in.

City dictated midfield with the Sky Blues content to hit on the counter, with chances falling to both sides, however a flurry of goal in a five minute spell at the end of the first half saw City head in with a four nil lead.



Sydney FC emerged the brighter of the two teams in the second 45, with Leena Khamis seeing an effort saved within the first minute of the restart, with Jasmyne Spencer proving particularly troublesome on the right flank.

After dominating possession until the 60th minute the Sky Blues conceded their fifth as Tabain tapped home following an outstanding parry from Betos in goal from Crummer’s initial shot.

Teresa Polias looked to pull one back for the Sky Blues from the penalty spot after Camilleri was fouled with five minutes remaining, however Burke stood tall to deny the Sydney FC captain as Ayres then took the ball up the other end to score City’s sixth and seal victory.


Joe Montemurro’s side now fronts up for the first Womens Melbourne Derby this Sunday in a massive A-League/W-League double header. The Derby kicks off at 2pm while the Men face Central Coast Mariners at 5pm. Get your tickets for the match here.

Membership banner

Match Details

Wesfied W-League Round 1

Sydney FC 0

Melbourne City FC 6 (Larissa Crummer 11′, 45′, Lisa De Vanna 39′, Beattie Goad 43′, Mariana Tabain 63′, Melina Ayres 89′)

Venue: Lambert Park, Leichhardt

Attendance: 960

Sydney FC:  1. Michelle BETOS (gk), 3. Ellyse PERRY, 4. Sunny FRANCO, 5. Jasmyne SPENCER, 6. Teresa POLIAS, 7. Nicola BOLGER (55’ Trudy CAMILLERI), 8. Amy HARRISON, 10. Renee ROLLASON, 14. Alanna KENNEDY, 17. Kyah SIMON, 19. Leena KHAMIS.

Subs Not Used: 18. Sham KHAMIS (gk), 11. Natalie TOBIN, 15. Teigen ALLEN.

Yellow cards: Franco 62’, Khamis 68’, Harrison 78’.

Red cards: None.

Melbourne City FC: 20. Trudy BURKE (gk), 5. Laura ALLEWAY, 6. Aivi LUIK, 7. Stephanie CATLEY, 9. Larissa CRUMMER, 11. Lisa DE VANNA (c) (70’ Alexandra CHIDIAC), 13. Rebekah STOTT, 15. Amy JACKSON, 16. Beatrice GOAD (83’ Melina AYRES), 17. Marianna TABAIN (88’ Olivia ELLIS), 18. Anisa GUAJARDO.

Subs Not Used: 30. Kelsey QUINN (gk).                                                           

Yellow cards: Luik 29’, Guajardo 76’.

Red cards: None.