Williams and Cahill receive honours at Dolan Warren Awards


Melbourne City stars Lydia Williams and Tim Cahill featured at the Dolan Warren awards night in Sydney, picking up the W-League Goalkeeper of the Year and A-League Goal of the Year.

Williams’ stellar first season between the sticks for City saw her lead her side to back-to-back Championships, adding a second winners medal to her personal collection.

The Matildas shot-stopper notched five clean sheets in the 2016/17 campaign with two coming in the Finals Series in both the Semi Final and Grand Final while adding the Melbourne City Coach’s Award and 2016 PFA Women’s Player of the Year to her achievements this season.

Tim Cahill was also recognised in his first season in the A-League, receiving the Goal of the Year award for his memorable Round 2 strike against Melbourne Victory.

The 27-minute wonder-strike was Cahill’s first A-League goal as the 40-yard volley sailed into the top corner, stunning those at Etihad Stadium and across with globe with his perfectly executed finish.

membership banner