Player of the Year: Tolgay Arslan awarded Scott Jamieson medal

Melbourne City wrapped up its 2023/24 A-League Men’s season on Monday night with the Club’s Player of the Year Awards.

The team came together to acknowledge two Club legends, in Jamie Maclaren and Curtis Good, as Tolgay Arslan’s dominant first season in City colours was celebrated with three awards.

In his first season with the Club, Arslan was awarded top honours, taking out the newly re-named Scott Jamieson Medal, which is given to Player of the Year.

We wrap up all the award winners below.

The Curtis Good Award – Andrew Nabbout

The Curtis Good Award, formerly the Clubman Award, was re-named to honour the legacy of our all-time appearance leader, recognising his immense contribution to City.

The inaugural Curtis Good Award was presented to Andrew Nabbout. Despite facing his own challenges throughout the season, Nabbout has continued to embody the spirit, character and values of the Club, both on and off the pitch.

From the Men’s team, through to the Women’s and Admin sides, he has been a constant role model and leader at City and has gone above and beyond to make the Club a better place for all.

Rising Star Award – Max Caputo

After a breakout season at City, Max Caputo was crowned the 2023/24 Rising Star Award.

Becoming the youngest Australian to score in an AFC competition when he found the back of the net in the Asian Champions League, the 18-year-old continued to impress and develop as the season progressed.

Continuously working to improve his game, Caputo became a regular for City’s first team and one of the league’s most exciting young strikers.

Golden Boot – Tolgay Arslan

With 19 goals in all competitions, 13 of those coming in 24 A-League Men’s appearances, the 2023/24 A-League Men’s Golden Boot was awarded to Tolgay Arslan.

Prolific in attack, Arslan was a constant on the scoresheet, claiming the Golden Boot in his first season at the Club.

Players’ Player and Scott Jamieson Medal – Tolgay Arslan

Tolgay Arslan‘s impressive first season in City colours was reflected at the Club’s Player of the Year awards, with the midfielder taking out both the Players’ Player Award and the Scott Jamieson Medal, alongside the Golden Boot.

Voted on by his teammates, the Players’ Player award shows just how much Arslan is admired, respected and valued by his peers.

The Scott Jamieson medal was re-named to honour Scott’s legacy and his significant on-going contribution to the Club. It’s awarded to someone who has consistently performed at the highest level throughout the season.

With 19 goals and seven assists in 34 appearances for City, Arslan was lethal in attack throughout the season, quickly asserting himself as one of the competition’s best.