Catley nominated for FIFPro 2016 Women’s World XI


Melbourne City captain Steph Catley has been shortlisted for the FIFPro 2016 Women’s World XI after leading her side to a historic second consecutive Westfield W-League Championship.

Catley is the only representative from Australia and the Westfield W-League to make the 55-player-shortlist, and is joined by superstar American duo Carli Lloyd – who recently signed with Manchester City – and Alex Morgan, along with six members who were part of Germany’s Gold Medal winning campaign at the Rio Olympics. 

It caps off a stellar 12 months for the 23-year-old, who enjoyed another excellent season in the W-League for City on the back of an Olympic campaign with the Matildas in Rio.

The 23-year-old, who was crowned City’s W-League Player of the Year at the Club’s End of Season celebration night, started in all 14 matches this season as City became the first team in the W-League’s nine year history to win back-to-back Championship titles.

The Matildas defender was a marvel of consistency at both left-back and occasionally in a more advanced position on the left wing, demonstrating her all-round qualities with a goal in November’s 3-0 Melbourne Derby win at AAMI Park.

The accolades keep rolling in for Catley, who was also named in the Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) W-League Team of the Season alongside City teammates Jess Fishlock and Lydia Williams.

More than 3,000 female players from 47 countries voted for the 2016 World XI, with each player selecting one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

The 55-player-shortlist consists of the 5 goalkeepers, 20 defenders, 15 midfielders and 15 attackers who received the most votes.

FIFPro will announce the Women’s World XI on March 8th, coinciding with International Women’s Day, a day dedicated to celebrate women’s achievements.

FIFPro Women’s World XI 2016 Shortlist

Goalkeepers: Katarzyna Kiedrzynek (Poland, Paris Saint-Germain), Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden, Chelsea, photo), Andreea Paraluta (Romania, Atletico), Tinja-Riikka Korpela (Finland, FC Bayern Munich), Hope Solo (USA, Free agent)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City), Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada, Olympique Lyonnais), Stephanie Catley (Australia, Melbourne City), Nilla Fischer (Sweden, VfL Wolfsburg), Sara Gama (Italy, ACF Brescia), Laura Georges (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Stephanie Houghton (England, Manchester City), Julie Johnston (USA, Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (USA, Portland Thorns), Tabea Kemme (Germany, 1. FFC Turbine Potsdam), Ali Krieger (USA, Orlando Pride), Leonie Maier (Germany, FC Bayern Munich), Amel Majri (France, Olympique Lyonnais), Griedge M’Bock (France, Olympique Lyonnais), Wendie Renard (France, Olympique Lyonnais), Irene Paredes (Spain, Paris Saint-Germain), Ali Riley (New Zealand, FC Rosengard), Line Roddik Hansen (Denmark, FC Barcelona), Becky Sauerbrunn (USA, FC Kansas City), Marta Torrejon (Spain, FC Barcelona)

Midfielders: Camille Abily (France, Olympique Lyonnais), Melanie Behringer (Germany, FC Bayern Munich), Veronica Boquete (Spain, Paris Saint-Germain), Sara Björk Gunnarsdottir (Iceland, VfL Wolfsburg), Pernille Harder (Denmark, VfL Wolfsburg), Tobin Heath (USA, Portland Thorns), Jenni Hermoso (Spain, FC Barcelona), Amandine Henry (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Saki Kumagai (Japan, Olympique Lyonnais), Carli Lloyd (USA, Manchester City), Dzsenifer Marozsan (Germany, Olympique Lyonnais), Marta (Brazil, FC Rosengard, photo), Claudia Neto (Portugal, Linköpings FC), Megan Rapinoe (USA, Seattle Reign), Caroline Seger (Sweden, Olympique Lyonnais)

Forwards: Andressa Alves (Brazil, FC Barcelona), Ramona Bachmann (Switzerland, Chelsea), Cristiane (Brazil, Paris Saint-Germain), Shirley Cruz (Costa Rica, Paris Saint-Germain), Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway, VfL Wolfsburg), Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Olympique Lyonnais), Eugenie Le Sommer (France, Olympique Lyonnais), Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern, photo), Anja Mittag (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg), Alex Morgan (USA, Olympique Lyonnais), Louisa Necib (France, Retired), Alexandra Popp (Germany, VfL Wolfsburg), Alexia Putellas (Spain, FC Barcelona), Lotta Schelin (Sweden, FC Rosengard), Christine Sinclair (Canada, Portland Thorns)