City to compete for inaugural W-League Blue Ribbon Cup


Melbourne City FC and Canberra United will compete for the inaugural Westfield W-League edition of the Blue Ribbon Cup, which perpetuates the memory of Victoria Police members killed in the line of duty through the support of worthwhile community projects by the Blue Ribbon Foundation.

Both sides will compete for the first edition of the trophy when City hosts Canberra in a blockbuster home clash at CB Smith Reserve on Saturday.

City have competed for the Hyundai A-League version of the trophy with Sydney FC since 2011, highlighting the Club’s long-standing relationship with the Blue Ribbon Foundation and Victoria Police.

Melbourne City FC W-League goalkeeper Lydia Williams acknowledged the importance of honouring the memory of Victoria Police officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice for their community.

“It’s very important to recognise the work and sacrifice all policemen and women throughout the country and Victoria make,” Williams said. “With this game being historical it adds a lot more special value to the match.

“We’re very proud of the work that we do throughout the Victorian community. It’s a very important match for us and hopefully we can continue to raise awareness for the Blue Ribbon Foundation.”

The Ann Brimblecombe memorial medal will also be awarded to the player deemed best afield and who greatest emphasises the qualities of courage and determination displayed by Senior Constable Ann Brimblecombe, who made the ultimate sacrifice on duty.

As a precursor to the W-League clash, Victoria Police Womens SC will play a curtain raiser against Ringwood City SC commencing at 2pm, with all Victoria Police members offered free access to the match.

The Blue Ribbon Foundation will be selling merchandise and accepting donations to support their initiatives throughout the community.

Join us at CB Smith Reserve on Saturday as we look to keep our undefeated Westfield W-League streak alive against Canberra United, kick-off 5pm. Entry is free for all Melbourne City members. 

Cityzens giving banner