Fornaroli, Mooy and Luik Receive Top Honours


Bruno Fornaroli, Aaron Mooy and Aivi Luik have been awarded Melbourne City FC’s top honours for the Hyundai A-League and Westfield W-League 2015/16 seasons at the Club’s Player of the Year Awards.

The event, held on Saturday evening at the Grand Hyatt, saw City’s influential A-League duo of Mooy and Fornaroli jointly awarded the Club’s A-League Player of the Year accolade.

Decorated W-League midfielder Luik was awarded City’s W-League Player of the Year, in a campaign in which the Club’s W-League team won a Premiership-Championship double in its inaugural season.

Following the conclusion of City’s regular season, the Club’s football department submitted votes and nominations for players within the W-League and A-League squads.

Mooy secured back-to-back Player of the Year awards after another consistent season, while Fornaroli wrapped up a record-breaking campaign with a hat-trick of accolades.

Fornaroli – the most prolific striker in Club and competition history – collected City’s Golden Boot Award and the Etihad Supporter’s Player of the Year, to compliment his Player of the Year award, after making 27 appearances for Melbourne City.

Fornaroli, 28, enjoyed a breakout first season with City, having set a number of new Club and league-wide records during the 2015/16 season.

The Uruguayan became Melbourne City FC’s overall leading goal scorer with 23 goals, eclipsing the record of 21 set by former Player of the Year David Williams;
Fornaroli first surpassed the previous regular season record of 19 goals set by Shane Smeltz and Besart Berisha, before establishing a new competition record of 23 goals across the regular season and finals series, and can further add to that tally in the 2016 Finals Series

Firmly establishing himself as the premier midfielder of the A-League competition, Mooy continued on from his exceptional form established during the 2014/15 campaign, playing an integral part in City’s free-scoring season alongside Fornaroli.

The 25-year-old found the back of the net 11 times and registered an incredible 20 assists for his teammates in 24 appearances
Mooy won the 2014/15 Player of the Year Award in his inaugural season with City

City’s A-League Head Coach John van’t Schip congratulated both players on their achievements; “Aaron and Bruno have made an invaluable contribution to the team this season and their accomplishments are quite remarkable.

“Bruno has been an entertaining, determined and passionate contributor for our team and not only plays with emotion, but with skill, flair and creativity, which is what we want from our players.

“Aaron has further demonstrated his progression this season and is regarded as one of the league’s best midfielders. His application and professionalism sets an example for our players and staff.”

City’s A-League captain Patrick Kisnorbo was presented the Clubman Award, which honours the player who has best embodied the spirit, character and values of Melbourne City FC, reflecting their contribution to the Club both on and off the field, rounding out the A-League awards.

Kisnorbo was an ever-present figure in City’s backline, making 24 appearances, but also made a significant impact off the field.
While remaining an influential and inspiring figure for younger players, Kisnorbo also regularly engaged in the Club’s City in the Community outreach programs

Midfielder Luik played an instrumental role in the Club’s triumphant inaugural season in the W-League. The 31-year-old was a mainstay in the centre of midfield, featuring in all of City’s 14 matches and scoring two goals as Joe Montemurro’s side secured an historic Premiership and Championship double.

City’s W-League Head Coach Joe Montemurro said; “Aivi was an integral member of our squad and she was an absolutely fundamental contributor to the team, both on and off the pitch.

“Her application and character were impeccable and she was a key figure in helping us achieve success in our first season. Not only that, but she assumed a valuable mentoring role for some of our developing young players.”

“In a talented team, Aivi was exceptional and a fully deserving winner of our award and we congratulate her on her achievement.”

Larissa Crummer, 20, was awarded City’s W-League Golden Boot after scoring 11 goals for Joe Montemurro’s team, while Rebekah Stott won the W-League Coach’s Award, which recognises the player who best embodied the spirit, character and values of Melbourne City in the W-League team.

Young midfielder Denis Genreau capped off an excellent year for City’s Foxtel National Youth League and National Premier Leagues teams by winning the Club’s new Rising Star award
Forward James Brown received the La Trobe University Education Award, presented to the player who has demonstrated a willingness to learn and develop their skills outside of football.

Brown is currently studying an Arts degree in between his football commitments and has aspirations to study Law.

The Club’s W-League Team Manager, Louisa Bisby, was awarded the Employee of the Year, which recognises the staff member whose tireless work has best reflected the ethos and philosophy of Melbourne City FC.

Nicole Osborne, who travels from Gippsland to assist with City in the Community (CITC) programs, won the Westpac Volunteer of the Year award, which seeks to acknowledge the effort of the volunteer whose commitment to Melbourne City FC is indispensable to the organisation.

Melbourne City FC 2015/16 Awards Summary
A-League Player of the Year (joint winners): Aaron Mooy, Bruno Fornaroli 
W-League Player of the Year: Aivi Luik
A-League Golden Boot: Bruno Fornaroli (23 goals) 
W-League Golden Boot: Larissa Crummer (11 goals)
Etihad Supporters’ Player of the Year: Bruno Fornaroli
W-League Coach’s Award: Rebekah Stott
Clubman Award: Patrick Kisnorbo
Employee of the Year: Louisa Bisby, W-League Team Manager
La Trobe University Educational Award: James Brown
Rising Star: Denis Genreau
Westpac Volunteer of the Year: Nicole Osborne