Fornaroli, Sorensen and Crummer feature at Dolan Warren Awards


Melbourne City featured heavily in Tuesday night’s Dolan Warren Awards as Bruno Fornaroli, Thomas Sorensen and Larissa Crummer picked up awards on Australian football’s night of nights.

Aaron Mooy went agonisingly close to winning the top gong, missing out on the Johnny Warren Medal by one vote to Diego Castro as two of the top four players in the running for the award were Melbourne City players.

The Club’s attacking flair in both Men’s and Women’s competitions was celebrated on the night as Larissa Crummer and Bruno Fornaroli picked up the Golden Boot for their respective competitions. Crummer was also named the Young Football of the Year after her stellar season with City.

After cracking three figures for saves this season, Thomas Sorensen was named Goalkeeper of the Year in his first season in Australia as the Great Dane picked up the awards alongside his City team mates at Carriageworks in Sydney.

City’s Kim Little was also voted the Players’ Player of the Year while our W-League team were awarded the Fair Play Award.


See the full list of winners

Hyundai A-League

Johnny Warren Medal (Player of the Year): Diego Castro – Perth Glory

Young Footballer of the Year: Jamie Maclaren – Brisbane Roar FC

Goalkeeper of the Year: Thomas Sorensen – Melbourne City FC

Nike Golden Boot Award: Bruno Fornaroli – Melbourne City FC (23 Goals)

Goal of the Year: Roy O’Donovan – Central Coast Mariners (Rd 25)

Coach of the Year: Guillermo Amor – Adelaide United

Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC

Referee of the Year: Jarred Gillett

Foxtel National Youth League Player of the Year: Dylan Smith – Adelaide United

Foxtel National Youth League Fair Play Award: Brisbane Roar FC

Westfield W-League

Julie Dolan Medal: Ashleigh Sykes – Canberra United

Young Footballer of the Year Award: Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City FC

Players Player of the Year: Kim Little – Melbourne City FC

Goalkeeper of the Year: Kaitlyn Savage – Adelaide United

Goal of the Year: Vanessa Di Bernardo – Perth Glory (Rd 5)

Coach of the Year: Craig Deans – Newcastle Jets

Golden Boot Award: Larissa Crummer – Melbourne City FC

Fair Play Award: Melbourne City FC

Referee of the Year: Kate Jacewicz