Match Preview – Melbourne Heart FC Vs Perth Glory


Melbourne Heart FC and Perth Glory will seek to break a three-game deadlock when the side’s meet at AAMI Park on Sunday.

Melbourne Heart FC Vs Perth Glory
Sunday, 16 October 2011
AAMI Park, Melbourne
Local kick-off: 5pm

Referee: Gerard Parsons
AR1: Luke Brennan
AR1: George Lackrindis
4th Official: Alex Azcurra
Radio broadcaster: SEN Digital
Head-to-Head: Played 3 – 3 draws

Click here to purchase tickets.

Melbourne Heart FC and Perth Glory will seek to break a three-game deadlock when the side’s meet at AAMI Park on Sunday.

From the heartbreaking last gasp Robbie Fowler penalty which denied the Red and White a debut win back in August last year to Alex Terra’s overhead wonder strike, which earned a place in end of season montages around the globe, encounters between the two sides have hardly been short of highlights or controversy.

After securing a strong 1-0 opening round win over Adelaide United on Sunday, the Glory have made a statement of intent, a declaration the team from the West is primed to relive past success and reclaim its place among Australia’s football elite.

But following the stellar showing of Heart’s attacking line-up against the Newcastle Jets on Saturday, the Red and White side of Melbourne appeared primed and well prepared to snatch its first win.

Recent Results

15 January 2011 – Perth Glory 1 Melbourne Heart FC 1 @ nib Stadium
3 November 2010 – Perth Glory 0 Melbourne Heart FC 0 @ nib Stadium
29 August 2010 – Melbourne Heart FC 2 Perth Glory 2 @ AAMI Park

Danger Man

Andrezinho – After a stellar Hyundai A-League debut performance, the Brazilian midfielder immediately asserted himself as one of the stars to watch this season. With a bag full of tricks and pace to burn, the Heart rearguard will need to be diligent and at full attention to repel the Glory midfielder-s attacking forays.

Fact of the Week

The previous three encounters between Melbourne Heart FC and Perth Glory have produced 12 yellow cards.

Melbourne Heart FC Squad: 2. Michael Marrone, 3. Brendan Hamill, 4. Simon Colosimo, 5. Fred, 6. Matt Thompson, 8. Kristian Sarkies, 9. Maycon, 10. Wayne Srhoj, 11. Alex Terra, 13. Jonatan Germano, 15. David Williams, 16. Aziz Behich, 17. Jason Hoffman, 18. Curtis Good, 22. Nick Kalmar, 23. Mate Dugandzic, 24. Nikola Roganovic (gk), 30. Sebastian Mattei (gk) *three to be omitted*

Perth Glory squad: 1.Danny Vukovic, 2.Josh Mitchell, 3.Bas Van Den Brink, 4.Billy Mehmet, 6.Chris Coyne, 7.Jacob Burns, 9.Shane Smeltz, 10.Liam Miller, 12.Scott Neville, 13.Travis Dodd, 14.Steven Mcgarry, 15.Tommy Amphlett, 17.Todd Howarth, 18.Jesse Makarounas, 19.Josh Risdon, 20.Neil Young, 21.Mile Sterjovski, 22.Adam Taggart, 27.Andrezinho.