Melbourne City break six A-League records


Melbourne City eclipsed several Hyundai A-League records on Monday night as the Club defeated Wellington Phoenix 3-0 at AAMI Park.



The team has already broken a number of records this season, including accumulating the Club’s highest points tally and striker Bruno Fornaroli eclipsing the regular-season record of 19 goals for an individual player.

Fornaroli went one (or two) better to break the A-League scoring record including finals series, with a brace against the Phoenix, taking his tally to 22 goals with two matches to play before the Finals Series commences.



The previous record of 21 was held by Bersart Berisha in 2010-11 with Brisbane Roar, when the Albanian striker netted 19 goals in the regular season and added two more to his tally in the finals.

Fornaroli’s 22 goals this season is also the best return of any striker in the Club’s history, with the Uruguayan moving one ahead of the previous record set by David Williams (21 goals), across four and a half seasons.



City’s three goal haul on Easter Monday also moved the club to 61 goals in 25 matches, surpassing the previous record of 58 goals in a regular season set by Brisbane Roar.

Harry Novillo’s sublime first-half finish also saw City become the first club in A-League history to feature three players with double-figure hauls – with Novillo (10), Aaron Mooy (11) and Fornaroli (21) chiming in with a combined 42 goals.