WOMEN’S WORLD CUP: 13 current and former City stars selected

With the FIFA Women’s World Cup Australia and New Zealand kicking off later this month, squad announcements are coming in thick and fast.

The Matildas announced their final squad of 23 on Monday, with 10 former City stars headlining the Australian squad. 

History-making City skipper, club legend and Melburnian, Steph Catley, will vice-captain the Australian squad.

Catley is joined in Australia’s final 23 by former City championship-winning teammates Lydia Williams, Kyah Simon, Emily van Egmond, Ellie Carpenter, Aivi Luik, Alex Chidiac and Alanna Kennedy. Former City Player of the Year, Teagan Micah, and star midfielder Tameka Yallop are also World Cup-bound following their selections. 

Across the ditch, City’s all-time ALW goal scorer Hannah Wilkinson and fellow New Zealand international Katie Bowen have been selected to represent the co-hosts. They join former City championship and premiership-winning defender, Rebekah Stott, in the Football Ferns squad. 

We congratulate all our current and former players for their selection and wish them the best of luck for the tournament.

Fixture Details – Matildas 

Group Match 1
Australia v Ireland 
Date: Thursday 20 July 
Kick-off: 8:00pm (AEST)
Venue: Stadium Australia 

Group Match 2
Australia v Nigeria 
Date: Thursday 27 July
Kick-off: 8:00pm (AEST)
Venue: Brisbane Stadium

Group Match 3 
Canada v Australia 
Date: Monday 31 July 
Kick-off: 8:00pm (AEST)
Venue: Melbourne Rectangular Stadium 

Fixture Details – Football Ferns 

Group Match 1
New Zealand v Norway
Date: Thursday 20 July 2023
Kick-off: 7:00pm (local), 5:00pm (AEDT)
Venue: Eden Park 

Group Match 2 
New Zealand v Philippines 
Date: Tuesday 25 July 2023
Kick-off: 5:30pm (local), 3:30pm (AEDT) 
Venue: Wellington Regional Stadium 

Group Match 3 
Switzerland v New Zealand 
Date: Sunday 30 July 2023
Kick-off: 7:00pm (local), 5:00pm (AEDT) 
Venue: Forsyth Barr Stadium