Club Awards renamed to honour City legends

Season 2023/24 has now wrapped up for both our Men’s and Women’s squads, but before officially closing the chapter, we’ll first award our Players of the Year.

Continuing from last week’s announcements, two more Club Awards have been renamed to recognise a pair of individuals who have made significant contributions to Melbourne City over the last few years.

Scott Jamieson is the most successful Captain in Club history and following his retirement at the end of season 2022/23, has remained at City in the role of Men’s Assistant Coach.

To recognise all he achieved on the pitch leading us to our inaugural Men’s Championship and the history-making three consecutive Premierships, our Player of the Year will now take home the ‘Scott Jamieson Medal’.

ALM Awards

  • Scott Jamieson Medal (formerly Player of the Year)
  • Players’ Player of the Year
  • Curtis Good Award (formerly Clubman Award)
  • Rising Star
  • Golden Boot

While she’s certainly had key moments on the pitch, off the pitch is where Melissa Barbieri has had her impact at Melbourne City most felt.

The proud owner of the record for the longest professional career in Australian football history, Barbieri has been a highly influential figure in the City Women’s football program since joining the Club in 2017.

A much-loved member of the locker room known for her ‘team-first’ attitude, the ALW player who best embodies the culture and values of Melbourne City will now win the Melissa Barbieri Award.

ALW Awards

  • Player of the Year
  • Players’ Player of the Year
  • Melissa Barbieri Award (formerly Coaches Award)
  • Rising Star
  • Golden Boot

Last week it was announced that the Men’s Clubman Award would be known as the Curtis Good Award going forward, honouring the legacy of our all-time appearance leader who has continually gone above and beyond throughout his time at City.

Similarly, our all-time leading scorer, Jamie Maclaren, will forever be etched in Club history when a Membership category is renamed in his honour ahead of season 2024/25.

Our Premiership-winning Women’s squad will be celebrated on Wednesday 8 May, while our Men’s Player of the Year will be held on Monday 13 May. Stay tuned to Club channels to see all the winners!