NEWS: Melbourne City FC Commences Foxtel National Youth League


Melbourne City FC commences its Foxtel National Youth League season this Saturday against Adelaide United.

Retaining members from last year’s squad, while adding new local and national talent, Melbourne City FC’s youth team will open its campaign on Saturday afternoon, challenging Adelaide from 2.30pm (local time) in Round 1 of the competition.

Joe Palatsides will continue in the role of coach of the Foxtel National Youth League for the third consecutive season ensuring consistency at the head of the coaching panel.

Palatsides has retained five players from last season’s squad in Ross Archibald, Hernan Espindola, Andrew Mullett, Phil Petreski and goalkeeper Marko Stevanja.

Archibald made his Hyundai A-League starting debut for Melbourne City FC last Saturday night against Sydney FC, demonstrating the tangible pathway for the Club’s youth players to senior football.

“We feel that our recruitment drive has been very successful again this season, and we are very pleased with the squad we have assembled,” Palatsides said.

“We have always measured our youth team on elevating our players into senior football, and already Ross has made his starting debut for the senior team last weekend.

“Paulo Retre is a player who graduated through our youth team and has earned a senior contract this year. These are great outcomes that continue to underline the importance of our youth team.

“We hope to help elevate more players to the senior team and eventually to professional contracts in the future.”

Players born between the years 1994 and 1998 are eligible for the NYL team and all players are registered as amateur players.

Melbourne City FC National Youth League Squad (including Replacement Player Pool): Ross Archibald, Leo Athanasiou, Tonio Baresic – Nikic, Wade Dekker, Baki Efe, Hernan Espindola, Tomislav Fadljevic, Luke Gallo, Tyler James, Andy Kecojevic, Tom King, Matt Millar, Joseph Monek, Andrew Mullet, Lajos Oliveira,  Trey O’Sullivan, Phil Petreski, Luka Prelevic, Anthony Rizk, Lewis Shannon, Yaren Sozer, Harris Stamboulidis, Marko Stevanja, Nick Symeoy, Anthony Taranto, Stefan Zinni

Match Details

Foxtel National Youth League Round 1

Saturday 18 October 2014

Adelaide United vs. Melbourne City FC

Adelaide Shores Football Centre

2.30pm (local), 3pm (Melbourne)

Click here for a full list of Melbourne City FC’s Foxtel National Youth League 2014/15 Fixtures